Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Once More We Saw Stars
Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir | Jayson Greene
10 posts | 7 read | 2 reading | 15 to read
A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss. --Cheryl Strayed For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief. As the book opens: two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. A brick crumbles from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious, and she is immediately rushed to the hospital. But although it begins with this event and with the anguish Jayson and his wife, Stacy, confront in the wake of their daughter's trauma and the hours leading up to her death, Once More We Saw Stars quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it--that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survive what seems unsurvivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation--and a book that will change the way you look at the world.
LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Lauren.Archer
post image
Pickpick

Going into this memoir, I had my tissue box handy. I had listened to a couple of interviews with the Author and knew exactly what I was getting into. The experience of reading was so much more than I expected.

For my full review, please visit my blog at: http://obsessedbookaholic.com/2019/11/14/once-more-we-saw-stars-book-review/

blurb
Lauren.Archer
post image

I already have tissues ready

Amiable Oh, this book manages to break your heart and reassemble the pieces. So good. 7d
61 likes1 comment
blurb
SassyPants617
post image

Stuck between wanting to make money behind the bar, and wanting it to be slow so I can start this book. 🤷🏼‍♀️🤓

review
Floresj
post image
Pickpick

The most vulnerable, heart wrenching, exquisitely written book about the grief of losing a child to an accident. Read by the author, this audiobook details the journey of grief. It made me so very thankful for the busyness of my two children and in awe of Greene‘s bravery in telling his family‘s story in such beautiful, brutal honesty.

quote
Sheridanb

”My heart was ripped straight from my chest and placed glistening on the pavement, and yet somehow it beats inside of me still.”

quote
Sheridanb

“Most days, these memories streak by in a blur, and my inability to see them clearly feels alarmingly like forgetting.”

quote
Sheridanb

“In the end, nothing and no one can hand you the map to your own grief.”

quote
BittersweetBooks
post image

Grief at its peak has a terrible beauty to it, a blinding fission of every emotion💔🎈

10 likes1 stack add
review
Amiable
post image
Pickpick

A heartbreaking, poignant, haunting and brilliantly written memoir by a man who lost his daughter at the age of 2 in a random and senseless accident. It‘s the story of her life, her death and the journey her parents made through grief and their bravery in choosing to become parents again. I read it with tears streaming down my face.

Completed for “something you pick” in #nonfiction2019.

@Riveted_Reader_Melissa

Riveted_Reader_Melissa Sounds heartbreaking but good. 6mo
53 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
everlocalwest
post image
Pickpick

Some memoirs transcend the author's experience and become universal; I always thought of those as the good ones. Then I read this memoir of loss & grief & was forced to confront the fullness of individual humanity in a way I haven't experienced before. The loss of a child is simply unfathomable to me, yet Greene's honesty and willingness to sit in the fearfulness of life resonated deeply. Wonderfully written; connects on an almost primitive level.