Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Last to See Me
The Last to See Me: A Novel | M Dressler
6 posts | 3 read | 10 to read
For fans of Lauren Oliver and Kazuo Ishiguro, The Last to See Me is a spellbinding American ghost story deftly weaving past and present into an unforgettable narrative about a young woman's fight for a life of her ownlong after her life is over. Over one hundred years ago, Emma Rose Finnis was born and died in the remote northern California town she now haunts. When she was alive, she was a lowly chambermaid and worse, a Finnis. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreamsbecause there are none left to remember. In a world where phantoms are considered "unclean," the spirits of her town have already been swept away. All except Emma Rose. But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to extinguish her once and for all, Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from her haunt, the stately Lambry Mansion. She's earned her place and shell keep iteven if it means waging a war on the living. After all, she's got nothing left to lose. The same might not be said for those who still enjoy the luxury of a breath . . .
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
LittleMummyMe
post image
Pickpick

This was a good book. I think the ending, unfortunately, was a bit flat.
This is a ghost story from the perspective of a ghost! 👻

blurb
LittleMummyMe
post image

This book sounds great...
The Last to See Me is normally $18.99 ATM $1.99

#kindleaustralia

review
jasreadsquiteabit
post image
Pickpick

“Just because you can‘t see a thing doesn‘t mean she isn‘t there.”
Whoa. I‘m not one for ghosty-supernatural style fiction, but this was a great book. The ending fell a bit flat, but very good read overall.

quote
MargoCatts
post image

#riotgrams #day12 #favoriteleadingladies
Well, how high am I supposed to build that stack? I‘ll go for favorite recent, Emma Rose Finnis, a ghost who‘s wise and fierce and knows what it means to be alive.
“If the living don‘t listen to the warnings of the dead, how are we to blame?...For what is a ghost, except a voice in your head you should pay attention to, but don‘t?”

22 likes1 stack add
review
Monica5
Pickpick

This was a good ghost story. It's told from the ghost point of view. I was kept spellbound throughout the book. Like the ending.

2 likes1 stack add
review
LWagoner
post image
Pickpick

Discovered this book & author by accident on Facebook when a few posted about going to a reading of this book by the author at our local Indie book store Scuppernong. The author is a creative writing professor at Guilford College. I absolutely fell in love with this ghost story! Told from the viewpoint of the ghost, the reader is taken thru unexpected twists & turns.This ghost has wit, spunk and perseverance. Great read!

15 likes4 stack adds