Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
CaseyMoore

CaseyMoore

Joined April 2016

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

Always amazing how much you can learn and feel from poetry. A few words on a page used the right way can teach and express so much.

quote
CaseyMoore
post image

quote
CaseyMoore
post image

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

Took me awhile to finish this one, but I do really enjoy Dickey‘s poetry.

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

Great book. Pride and power, heartache and heartbreak.

Cathythoughts Beautiful 3y
9 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
CaseyMoore
post image

Current book pile

review
CaseyMoore
Eternals | Neil Gaiman, John Romita
post image
Pickpick

Eternals by Neil Gaiman and John Romita, Jr. I can see how this will probably be the basis for the film. It is Kirby interpreting Chariot of the Gods mixed with some Gaiman dark fairy tale and a bit of Lovecraft.

blurb
CaseyMoore
post image

Books my wife got me for Father‘s Day.

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

One of my favorites since it features the Shakespeare issue.

review
CaseyMoore
The Wild Storm Vol. 1 | Warren Ellis
post image
Pickpick

Warren Ellis spy fi coolness. Go read. Hit the spot for me.

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

Finished volume 2 of the Sandman today.

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

World isn‘t weird enough apparently, so I am re-reading the Sandman.

blurb
CaseyMoore
Arden Shakespeare Complete Works | William Shakespeare, David Scott Kastan, Richard Proudfoot, Ann Thompson
post image

Happy Shakespeare Day!

quote
CaseyMoore
A Midsummer-night's Dream | William Shakespeare
post image

“That the rude sea grew civil at her song.” Another piece from Shakespeare about the sea that I love.

quote
CaseyMoore
Richard III | William Shakespeare
post image

I love this description of the ocean floor from Richard III. #shakespeare

review
CaseyMoore
Invisible Man | H G Wells
post image
Pickpick

Going back through and reading the classic horror books. Enjoying this and seeing them with new eyes.

9 likes1 stack add
review
CaseyMoore
post image
Mehso-so

This was ok. Outdated in some ways and a lot of it you can learn from various YouTube videos that show you how the shots are done in actual films. Also, too much talk of storyboards.

review
CaseyMoore
Dracula | Bram Stoker
post image
Pickpick

Finally finished this one. I enjoyed it, but I can also see why so many have taken it and made it their own. I do love the way the story is told.

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

I finally finished this one. Some of the scenes in the book upset me; but, they are clearly of the time. A good look at making sure your ship is custom for your adventure and being fully prepared.

blurb
CaseyMoore
post image

This morning (soundtrack provided by Ellis Marsalis).

review
CaseyMoore
Shakespeare the Thinker | Anthony David Nuttall
post image
Pickpick

An amazing and very dense look at the plays and the philosophies Nuttall sees in them.

9 likes1 stack add
quote
CaseyMoore
Shakespeare the Thinker | Anthony David Nuttall
post image

“Democracy can do many things. It can even commit suicide.”

review
CaseyMoore
Of Mice and Men | Steinbeck
post image
Pickpick

Lot of down time to read books. Guess that is one good thing about this quarantine and shut down.

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

First book of the forced hiatus/unemployment due to covid19.

quote
CaseyMoore
post image

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

Really enjoyed this one. For what is essentially a mystery/adventure book, it has a lot to say about confronting our inherited biases.

blurb
CaseyMoore
Shakespeare the Thinker | Anthony David Nuttall
post image

My purchases today at the bookstore.

review
CaseyMoore
This Is Shakespeare | Emma Smith
post image
Pickpick

Great survey of Shakespeare plays which presents them more as asking questions than giving us answers. I really hope we get more books from Emma Smith in Shakespeare.

CaseyMoore That‘s a Manhattan by the way. 3y
10 likes1 comment
blurb
CaseyMoore
post image

I was getting some stuff organized. Notebooks from 2009 to 2020.

blurb
CaseyMoore
The Tempest | William Shakespeare
post image

My son playing Caliban in his school‘s production of The Tempest. He was so good!

quote
CaseyMoore
post image

Love this description.

quote
CaseyMoore
post image

Great quote for those who love to keep a notebook.

review
CaseyMoore
In the Hall with the Knife: A Clue Mystery #1 | Diana Peterfreund, Hasbro, Inc.
post image
Pickpick

This was a lot of fun. Recommended for fans of Riverdale and Nancy Drew. Just a fun, YA mystery book inspired by Clue.

14 likes1 stack add
review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

First book of 2020. Really enjoyed this book. Characters are a nice balance with no being perfect and having complex emotions. Also can a fun adventure/mystery book.

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

A thoroughly depressing book. Great read. Highly recommend for people interested in journalism. Good to know no matter how big the paper or story, reporters always have to fight to get the good stories published.

quote
CaseyMoore
post image

“There are eight rules of being a good reporter, Jake.”

quote
CaseyMoore
Slow Horses | Mick Herron
post image

review
CaseyMoore
Slow Horses | Mick Herron
post image
Pickpick

This one was really good. A really fun spy romp with a bunch of misfits. Jackson Lamb deserves to be up there with George Smiley.

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

Loved this book. A great companion piece for anyone who has read Moby Dick as well as a great meditation on whales and our history with them. A very moving and lovely book.

review
CaseyMoore
Spoon River Anthology | Edgar Lee Masters
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed this. It surprised me in some places. I read it mainly because it inspired Sergio Leone for a movie he never made.

review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

An amazing history of the Gulf of Mexico that will leave you thoroughly depressed and destroyed. So strange to read a book that I am so very connected to in various ways.

8 likes1 stack add
review
CaseyMoore
Thunderball | Ian Fleming
post image
Pickpick

I just enjoy the hell out of these despite all the horrible problems for a modern audience.

blurb
CaseyMoore
post image

Sunday reading.

Addison_Reads The Whale and The Gulf are both excellent books. Happy Reading! 😁 3y
CaseyMoore Loving The Whale. The Gulf is heartbreaking for many different reasons. Makes me miss my days as a kid in Destin during the summer. (edited) 3y
8 likes2 comments
review
CaseyMoore
In the Woods | Tana French
post image
Mehso-so

I thought this was ok. The big twist was easy to spot, especially halfway through the book when one of the main characters goes on an extended story about a similar incident. Also, there is a shift through the book in one of the main characters that I didn‘t like. I don‘t think everything to be neat and tidy, but I don‘t like figuring out stuff before the main characters because they are dense.

Cathythoughts I‘m on the 4th one now .. Broken Harbour ... it‘s good 👍🏻 3y
13 likes1 comment
review
CaseyMoore
post image
Pickpick

Not the normal book I would read, but I enjoyed it. One of those history books that shows you we have always been awful and there was no golden age.

blurb
CaseyMoore
post image

Current stack of books I am actively reading and the notebooks I am actively writing in.

blurb
CaseyMoore
post image

A very Elementary inspired Father‘s Day gift from my wife and son.

review
CaseyMoore
Good Omens | Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
post image
Pickpick

There was a lot more heart to this book than I thought there would be. I love the tone it set on the balance between Heaven and Hell. Reminded me a lot of my Old Testament class at Jesuit.

quote
CaseyMoore
Goldfinger | Ian Fleming
post image

This is great opening.

review
CaseyMoore
Goldfinger | Ian Fleming
post image
Pickpick

Fun book, but damn it is a tough read. Fleming was not a modern man.