Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Mango and Peppercorns
Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream | Tung Nguyen, Katherine Manning, Lyn Nguyen
3 posts | 2 read | 2 to read
A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami. Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature. In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country. Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrastsa harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce. IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi. TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf. INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes. Perfect for: Fans of culinary nonfiction Fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen Home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Sydneypaige
post image
Pickpick

Vietnamese food, a refugee‘s journey to Miami, and a blossoming friendship 💕 I really enjoyed this memoir that follows both Tung & Kathy in turn. Through the two women, it shows their different mindsets/attitudes and American privilege (“American Dream” propaganda) and Vietnamese culture.

review
Lizwarnerpdx
Pickpick

This is a vulnerable and moving story of a Vietnamese refugee and an odd duck American becoming life long friends & running a restaurants together. And it includes recipes! It‘s one of those stories that keep you thinking & make you want to do more to make the world a better place.

blurb
PatriciaU
post image

Spending my evening with this beauty. It was waiting on my desk at work this morning.

34 likes1 stack add