Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Something Like Gravity
Something Like Gravity | Amber Smith
For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor & Park, a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first timeand how first love changes us allfrom New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith. Chris and Maia arent off to a great start. A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters dont fare much better. Chriss good intentions backfire. Maias temper gets the best of her. But theyre neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just cant seem to stay away from each other. The path forward isnt easy. Chris has come out as transgender, but hes still processing a frightening assault he survived the year before. Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister and trying to find her place in the world without her. Falling in love was the last thing on either of their minds. But would it be so bad if it happened anyway?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
oliviascrimo

Whippoorwill Book Award
July 7th, 2020
After a bad car accident Maia and Chris seem to always be running into each other, even if they don‘t want to. Both are going through a lot and never thought that they would be in a place to fall in love.

blurb
Hcecrle

Something like gravity is a young adult fiction book about a transgender boy finding love. A car accident brings the two teens together and even though they both experience life-changing events throughout the process, they seem to never want to be apart. I would recommend this story to young adults as it is a chapter book and maybe a more complex text for kids. Published in 2019.

review
gclift
Pickpick

Something like Gravity was published in 2019 and was written by Amber Smith. This is a great chapter book for older students, and is a great book to represent the LGBTQ+ community as well. This book has won the Whippoorwill Book Award.

review
Hannahhh7
Pickpick

Something Like Gravity is a young adult fiction book written by Amber Smith. It is about two teens, Chris and Maia, who can‘t seem to stay away from each other. They each have their own struggles they are dealing with. Chris has come out as transgender and Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister. They are neighbors for the summer and love is the last thing on their minds, however love still seemed to appear. This book was published in 2019.

Hannahhh7 This book has received the whippoorwill award. 2mo
1 like1 comment
review
clairebourq_2023
Pickpick

Award: Whippoorwill Book Award
Reason for Award: Recognizes the best books written for young adults set in rural places
Description: This story is about two characters, Chris and Maia. Chris has come out as transgender and is struggling with his past traumatic experiences. Maia is also struggling with a traumatic past grieving his sisters death. The two come together in a strange way and find out they are neighbors for the summer.

clairebourq_2023 They start off disliking each other but begin to fall for one another. Follow them on their journey of finding themselves through each other.

Publication: June 18, 2019
Author: Amber Smith
2mo
clairebourq_2023 Genre: Young adult Fiction 2mo
2 comments
review
MaddieBrown3
Mehso-so

Award:Whippoorwill Book Award
Purpose: dispelling stereotypes and demonstrated diversity of rural living
Title: Something like Gravity
Author: Amber Smith
Publication: June 18, 2019
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Brief Summary: Two teenageers that are going through their own struggles. Chris is transitioning. Mia had just lost her sister. They end up being neighbors and their paths continue to cross. The last thing on their mind was falling in love.

review
allycrothers
Mehso-so

published : 2019
Author -Amber Smith
Genre - Young Adult Fiction
Award - Whippoorwill Book Award
Two tweens who are struggling with their pasts, fall in love. A chapter book that would be good for older. - audiences. Shows important social topics and situations that I think readers could benefit from reading about.

review
laurenebailey14
Pickpick

Two teens, who are neighbors, are both dealing with tough news. One who is transgender, trying to cope, and one who is trying to come to terms with the death of a close one. As they spend the Summer together, they find love and support one another through everything.

laurenebailey14 - Whippoorwill Book Award in 2019 3mo
1 like1 comment
blurb
loganhiller

This book is about two young people trying to find their footing after enduring hardships in their rural hometown. This book seems like a fantastic book for older students to learn about differences around the world. I would definitely use this book in an older classroom!

This book is a Whipporwill Award Winner

review
caitlinblack
Pickpick

Published in 2019, this book is about two teens who are struggling with their pasts and fall in love over the summer and help one another gain confidence.

Awards:
Whippoorwill Award

Genre:
Realistic fiction

review
ashesofabookdragon
post image
Panpan

This novel starts amazing and the characters are written beautifully. If I were doing a review of the first 30-40% of this book - we‘d easily be around 4 stars. However, the more that Maia developed, the more I was upset and the stars dropped for me.

Overall: 2.5
Plot: 4
Character: 2
Dialogue: 2
Writing: 3

Full review on the blog 🙌🏻
——
thank you #Netgalley for providing a copy of this book for an honest review
---
#bookreview #bookblogger

review
Lovesbooks87
post image
Mehso-so

I brought this book a few years ago not really knowing anything about it. Chris and Maia are dealing with a lot when they first met each other. Maia is dealing with the death of her sister and Chris with coming out as trans and not getting the reaction and support he needed. My big issue with this book is it isn‘t written by an#ownvoices author. I did buy a book suggest in a goodreads review that is written by a trans author.

Lovesbooks87 #bbrc yeah baby fake diversity in a book ages 16 and under @LibrarianRyan @Sarahreadstoomuch 2y
LibrarianRyan 😁❤️👍🏻 2y
Butterfinger Thanks @Lovesbooks87 I will get this one. 2y
51 likes4 comments
blurb
jenrockey
post image

Currently reading

review
Skeeterisme
post image
Pickpick

Absolutely gorgeous

47 likes4 stack adds
review
Book_yogi
post image
Pickpick

There is a lot going on here in this book and all seem to play a part in what the author is trying to convey in this book. Love and loss and violence and pain and acceptance and hurt and death and mourning and separation and more love and so much more. Chris, a transgender, is such an endearing character, and Maia came into his life at the right time, but they just had to go through what they did to get to where they need to be.

2 likes1 stack add
review
Bookwisher
Pickpick

Fabulous!