Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Archive of Alternate Endings
The Archive of Alternate Endings: Stories | Lindsey Drager
13 posts | 6 read | 23 to read
Tracking the evolution of Hansel and Gretel at seventy-five-year intervals that correspond with earth's visits by Halley's Comet, The Archive of Alternate Endings explores how stories are disseminated and shared, edited and censored, voiced and left untold. In 1456, Johannes Gutenberg's sister uses the tale as a surrogate for sharing a family secret only her brother believes. In 1835, The Brothers Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm revise the tale to bury a truth about Jacob even he can't come to face. In 1986, a folklore scholar and her brother come to find the record is wrong about the figurative witch in the woods, while in 2211, twin space probes aiming to find earth's sister planet disseminate the narrative in binary code. Breadcrumbing back in time from 2365 to 1378, siblings reimagine, reinvent, and recycle the narrative of Hansel and Gretel to articulate personal, regional, and ultimately cosmic experiences of tragedy. Through a relay of speculative pieces that oscillate between eco-fiction and psychological horror, The Archive of Alternate Endings explores sibling love in the face of trauma over the course of a millennium, in the vein of Richard McGuire's Here and Lars von Trier's Melancholia.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
xicanti
post image

I read 100% queer books in May and it felt awesome. 10/10, would recommend to all.

I found two new-to-me 5-star reads among them: the tagged book and FELIX EVER AFTER by Kacen Callender. Whee!

Nutmegnc I sooo agree!! Felix ever after was amazing!! 3w
xicanti @Nutmegnc I can‘t stop thinking about it! What a great book. 3w
25 likes2 comments
quote
Nutmegnc
post image

Kammbia1 This is true and real good! 1mo
Bklover This book is sounding better and better! 1mo
Nutmegnc @Bklover it‘s not for everybody but I love quirky. 1mo
35 likes1 stack add4 comments
quote
Nutmegnc
post image

quote
Nutmegnc
post image

blurb
Nutmegnc
post image

@xicanti You nailed it. Great recommendation. It blew my mind and I loved it. #gaymay @BkClubCare

xicanti I‘m so glad! 1mo
BkClubCare Was this checked out with your new library card? 1mo
Nutmegnc @BkClubCare YES!! BKPL ftw!! 1mo
35 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
xicanti
post image
Pickpick

THE ARCHIVE OF ALTERNATE ENDINGS is made of siblings and queerness and stories that echo across centuries, and I‘m obsessed with it.

5 stars

#gaymay

Nutmegnc Omg that sounds amazing!! 2mo
xicanti @Nutmegnc its Litsy rating says it isn‘t for everyone, but it was sure the right book for me. I want to rush madly about, waving it in people‘s faces. 2mo
BkClubCare @xicanti - we need to see this video. @Nutmegnc (edited) 2mo
xicanti @BkClubCare I think I‘d be cautioned for disturbing the peace. 2mo
38 likes3 stack adds5 comments
review
Kaarin
post image
Mehso-so

There are some beautiful, poignant passages in this book. But I didn‘t believe any of the dialogue.

review
Lindy
post image
Pickpick

The multiple strands of the millennium spanned in this novel-told-in-fragments are set 70 years apart, timed with each pass of Halley‘s comet. Pairs of brothers & sisters, with one excluded from their families, often because of one being queer, & the other sticking with them in solidarity—the Hansel & Gretel theme works very well. History is recorded by the dominant in society; it‘s refreshing to see things from a different perspective. #LGBTQ

36 likes3 stack adds
quote
Lindy
post image

What is story if not the safe harbour for our most disturbing imaginings? I learned early that the notion of what will come to pass haunts better. But, too, it is about the storyteller—who you choose to trust and why.

blurb
Lindy
post image

I love book serendipity. I just finished a novel about a fairytale collector/creator who is searching for his sister, and my next book opens with the sibling bond between the Grimm brothers. 🙃

22 likes1 stack add
review
BookNAround
post image
Mehso-so

This is not a traditionally structured narrative. Like the chambered shell on the cover, the narrative unfurls and folds back on itself. The power of story, Hansel and Gretel, homosexuality, sibling relationships, and more weave in and out of the story following the 75 year circuit of Halley‘s Comet. Not for everyone for sure. Full review at https://booknaround.blogspot.com/2019/10/review-archive-of-alternate-endings-by....

56 likes1 stack add
review
mreads
post image
Pickpick

An 'exploration of sibling love in the face of trauma over the course of a millennium' flipping back and forth in time on the years' of Haley's comet and intertwined with the story of Hanzel and Gretel. Strong LGBTQ themes/presence.

So yeah, not for everyone but I loved it! 5⭐

Reading from my swaps this month as much as possible so Thanks again to @BookNAround for the book and @leslieO helping keep my place with this fabulous bookmark.

BookNAround I‘m glad you enjoyed it. 😁 3y
54 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
BookNAround
post image

Going to start this one that apparently tracks Hansel and Gretel in 75 year intervals over centuries. Very curious to see what it‘s like.

Jee_HookedOnBookz Hi Kristen!! I received your #jb mail today! The card is so cuuuute! Your mail made my day! Thank you! Will respond soon! 😘❤️ 3y
BookNAround @Jee_HookedOnBookz Glad it arrived. No rush on the response at all. I love that the whole thing is so low pressure! 3y
Jee_HookedOnBookz Ang this book sounds so interesting! Can't wait to read what you think! 3y
wordzie 😎 3y
78 likes6 stack adds5 comments