Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Illuminations
The Illuminations | Andrew O'Hagan
5 posts | 2 read | 1 reading | 9 to read
A compelling new novel by two-time Booker finalist and internationally acclaimed author Andrew O'Hagan. For readers of Colm Toibin, Ian McEwan, Alan Hollinghurst and David Mitchell. How much do we keep from the people we love? Why is the truth so often buried in secrets? Can we learn from the past or must we forget it? The Illuminations, Andrew O'Hagan's fifth work of fiction, is a powerful, nuanced and deeply affecting novel about love and memory, about modern war and the complications of fact. Standing one evening at the window of her house by the sea, Anne Quirk sees a rabbit disappearing in the snow. Nobody remembers her now, but this elderly woman was in her youth an artistic pioneer, a creator of groundbreaking documentary photographs. Her beloved grandson, Luke, now a captain in the British army is on a tour of duty in Afghanistan. When his mission goes horribly wrong, he ultimately comes face to face with questions of loyalty and moral responsibility that will continue to haunt him. Once Luke returns home to Scotland, Anne's secret story begins to emerge, along with his, and they set out for an old guest house in Blackpool where she once kept a room. There they witness the annual illuminations--the dazzling artificial lights that brighten the seaside resort town as the season turns to winter. The Illuminations is a beautiful and highly charged novel that reveals, among other things, that no matter how we look at it, there is no such thing as an ordinary life.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
Jhullie
The Illuminations | Andrew O'Hagan
post image
Mehso-so

I‘m not too sure how I feel about this book. I liked it, it felt a bit like I was meandering through someone else‘s memories, which I suppose was the point. I did keep waiting for something momentous to happen though, and it never did.

blurb
Jhullie
The Illuminations | Andrew O'Hagan
post image

39 likes1 stack add
blurb
Jhullie
The Illuminations | Andrew O'Hagan
post image

I‘m only 60 pages in but it‘s grabbed my imagination already. Late night reading coming up 📖

blurb
Jhullie
The Illuminations | Andrew O'Hagan
post image

This was a Christmas gift last year, time to give it a go.