Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Crime on the Fens
Crime on the Fens: A Gripping Detective Thriller Full of Suspense | Joy Ellis
3 posts | 3 read | 13 to read
A NEW CRIME THRILLER WITH A COMPELLING DETECTIVE WHO WILL STOP AT NOTHING TO AVENGE HER DAUGHTER THE DETECTIVE DI Nikki Galena: A police detective with nothing left to lose, she's seen a girl die in her arms, and her daughter will never leave the hospital again. She's got tough on the criminals she believes did this to her. Too tough. And now she's been given one final warning: make it work with her new sergeant, DS Joseph Easter, or she's out. HER PARTNER DS Joseph Easter is the squeaky-clean new member of the team. But his nickname "Holy Joe" belies his former life as a soldier. He has an estranged daughter who blames him for everything that went wrong with their family. THEIR ADVERSARY is a ruthless man who holds DI Galena responsible for his terrible disfigurement. THE TOWN is being terrorised by gangs of violent thugs, all wearing identical hideous masks. Then a talented young female student goes missing on the marsh and Nikki and Joseph find themselves joining forces with a master criminal in their efforts to save her. They need to look behind the masks, but when they do, they find something more sinister and deadly than they ever expected . . . THE SETTING The Lincolnshire Fens: great open skies brood over marshes, farmland, and nature reserves. It is not easy terrain for the Fenland Constabulary to police, due to the distances between some of the remote Fen villages, the dangerous and often misty lanes, and the poor telephone coverage. There are still villages where the oldest residents have never set foot outside their own farmland and a visit to the nearest town is a major event. But it has a strange airy beauty to it, and above it all are the biggest skies you've ever seen. DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY SERIES NOW Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons or Ruth Rendell CRIME ON THE FENS is the first novel in a gripping new crime fiction series. The next book SHADOW OVER THE FENS will be released very soon. NIKKI GALENA SERIES Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS PRAISE FOR JOY ELLIS: "Joy Ellis's future books will be something to look forward to." Eurocrime.co.uk
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
MuddyPuddle
post image
Pickpick

Read with a thick lilt and including a few references I was unsure of, (the cabra? Cabra? since I listened to it I didn't know if it was a proper noun place or an improper noun place) I enjoyed this mystery (not loved, but liked). Perhaps not the most exciting or surprising that I've ever read, but entertaining nonetheless, more in the characterizations than anything else.

LeeRHarry Ooh set in Lincolnshire - my home county - should check this out 😊 2y
80 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
Booksnchill
post image

Got this from Hoopla to listen to while in my studio this afternoon and really like it- first in a series- good narrator and compelling procedural so far! Anyone else read this series?

Mdargusch I really liked this book too! 2y
Booksnchill @Mdargusch have you gone on to the others in the series? Several are on Hoopla 2y
Mdargusch I listened to the first two and I liked them both. 2y
65 likes3 comments
review
Mdargusch
post image
Pickpick

This was a fast paced thriller that reminded me of books by Tana French. I loved the narration on this book and all the different English accents. I recommend the audio version for entertainment while driving.

cathysaid Sounds like fun/intriguing brain candy! Stacked! 🍬🍭 3y
Mdargusch @cathysaid I'm starting the second in the series today since I liked the first book so much! 3y
Reviewsbylola Always nice to find a series you enjoy! 3y
See All 6 Comments
Kristy_K Sold me with the Tana French comparison. 😁 3y
melbeautyandbooks You had me at Tana French! Stacked it. Thanks! 3y
Mdargusch I hope you agree @Kristy_K and @melbeautyandbooks 😬. Tana French is one of my favorites. 3y
89 likes10 stack adds6 comments