Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
comics_librarian

comics_librarian

Joined January 2017

“When the wine is in, the wit is out.“- Thomas Becon. Follow me at jackphoenix.com
review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

This iteration of TMNT continues in excellent fashion with a volume that focuses on the interpersonal relationships (and trauma) of the characters, while introducing some fabulous new mutants.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

My review for this book will be forthcoming in LIBRARY JOURNAL.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

Featuring one of the cutest illustrated dogs ever, MAYOR GOOD BOY'S surprising combination of appealing art, potty humor, and appeal to activism will make it a pleasure for middle-grade readers and more.

review
comics_librarian
PAWS: Gabby Gets It Together | Nathan Fairbairn
post image
Pickpick

A beautiful illustrated graphic novel for anyone who loves doggos at any age, featuring some very relatable young characters.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

The high energy artwork will draw the young and young-at-heart in and the lighthearted spy gags will keep them hooked.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

Fans of BABYMOUSE and DOG MAN will likely delight in this crisply-illustrated, comical superhero tale.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Mehso-so

Reviewed @ jackphoenix.com

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

With the compelling "City Fall" story arc and the wildly entertaining introduction of two fan-favorite characters, this series shows potential to get even better.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Mehso-so

It‘s surprisingly judgmental for a true crime book, but this anthology of mostly interesting cases throughout Greater Cleveland‘s history is still worth a glance.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

It‘s a bit murky at times, but ultimately this an exciting and emotional conclusion to King‘s magnum opus.

KathyWheeler I hated the ending of this book when it first came out, but the more often I‘ve read the series, the more I appreciate that ending. 9mo
12 likes1 comment
review
comics_librarian
Chef's Kiss | Jarrett Melendez
post image
Mehso-so

The art is crisp, the conflict is corny, and it has all the ingredients those with a taste for sweet romance could want.

review
comics_librarian
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: the IDW Collection Volume 2: The IDW Collection | Tom Waltz, Joshua Williamson, Erik Burnham, Mike Costa, Paul Allor, Kevin B. Eastman, Ben Epstein, Barbara Randall Kesel
post image
Pickpick

This modern retelling continues to add rich, new elements to the TMNT mythos while not skimping on the action.

review
comics_librarian
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Idw Collection | Tom Waltz, Erik Burnham, Brian Lynch, Valerio Schiti, Mateus Santolouco, Kevin B. Eastman, Charles Paul Wilson III, Dan Duncan
post image
Pickpick

By introducing some new ideas into the mythology, this reimagining of the classic TMNT property is off to a strong start.

review
comics_librarian
Southernmost | Silas House
post image
Pickpick

This is sweet tale about judgement, courage, and reevaluation of one's life and beliefs, even if the plot does meander just a bit.

review
comics_librarian
Manhunt | Gretchen Felker-Martin
post image
Pickpick

Unlike any survival horror you'll ever read, but worthy of inclusion as the best of the sub-genre, this merciless tale of bodies, burdens, and belonging is a must-read.

Reggie Ughhh I can‘t wait until the end of the month for it to come out! 10mo
comics_librarian @Reggie you‘ll love it 10mo
12 likes2 comments
review
comics_librarian
The Toll | Neal Shusterman
post image
Pickpick

By shifting the focus to multiple lead characters, this series finale takes the story a welcomely unexpected conclusion, while keeping the death count just as high.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

It doesn't condescend by spoon-feeding Japanese folklore, and it waltzes between whimsy and tension; overall, this is a simple and eerie ghost story.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Mehso-so

It‘s not one of Dickens‘s best, but this is a simple and saccharine tale for the holidays.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

A sweet and educational tale with a surprisingly emotional end, made even better with vibrant colors.

review
comics_librarian
The Last Battle | C. S. Lewis
post image
Mehso-so

It's possibly the most heavy-handed of all the Narnia books, but the themes of religious hypocrisy in the earlier chapters are still relevant today.

review
comics_librarian
Creepshow | Stephen King
post image
Pickpick

It was retro three decades ago, and it‘s barely aged a day; a ghoulishly good time when paired with its film counterpart.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

One of the darkest Spider-Man stories ever told, this tale lives up to its reputation thanks to writing and artwork that is dismal, dirty, but discerning.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

With a life nearly as gonzo and bonkers as his movies, Charles Band manages to entertain, charm, and even manipulate the reader with insight into his weird world.

review
comics_librarian
Scooby Apocalypse Vol. 6 | Keith Giffen, J.M. DeMatteis, Heath Corson
post image
Mehso-so

SCOOBY APOCALYPSE ends on a fizzle, but a comic doesn‘t make it to this many volumes if it‘s boring; this has been a fun, gory adventure.

LibrarianRyan I agree. I wish it had a stonger finish. The first book was so promising. 12mo
7 likes1 comment
review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

Thanks to Mark Waid's writing and Javier Rodriguez's brilliant artwork, this very simple premise becomes a comic that is encyclopedic, entertaining, and beautiful.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Mehso-so

It won‘t fail on all the malicious, gory, splatter-punk violence, or pitch black humor, but it might disappoint if you‘re looking for a single, cohesive story.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

Ottens's librarian experiences will be familiar to those in the profession and may be at least an interesting glimpse to those who are not; either way this is a quick read with warmth.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

A blast of fun, nostalgia, and information, this book is a must-read for any Full Moon fan or all-around cinephile.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

Boosted by stunning artwork, this seemingly simple story gives us Wonder Woman at her finest; compassionate, earnest, and torn between two worlds.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Mehso-so

An invaluable resource for anyone researching movie novelizations, Larson has written a bibliography with lots of utility despite its age.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Mehso-so

The final collection of Rucka‘s original Wonder Woman run is sadly bogged down in chunks of event crossovers, but Rucka‘s writing shines through as best it can.

review
comics_librarian
Imaginary Friend | Steven Chbosky
post image
Panpan

Though it has moments of emotional beauty, ultimately Imaginary Friend reads as an envious and highly inferior clone of Stephen King‘s It.

Reggie Omg this was sooooo much longer than it needed to be. 14mo
6 likes1 comment
review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

Tom King once again brings emotional weight equal to the brutality and giving the fans a glimpse of what a pleasure a happy Batman could be to read.

Leftcoastzen 🐶 Cuteness! 1y
10 likes1 comment
review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

Funny, charming, and an overall delight, this Victorian-set comedy of errors is a devilishly good time.

review
comics_librarian
Spider-girl: Endgame | Tom DeFalco
post image
Mehso-so

The dialogue is so dated you‘ll slap your forehead, but the ideas are there and, when they manage to come through, are full of heart.

review
comics_librarian
Jaws | Peter Benchley
post image
Pickpick

The shark isn't as mystified as in the film and there is a greater focus on domestic drama between the characters, but Jaws the book still holds up as a perfectly thrilling summer read.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Mehso-so

It's probably even more problematic than the other Narnia books, but The Horse and His Boy is still a fun little romp for young and old.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

Shame on DC for not continuing the Deluxe Editions, but King's writing, particular Bruce's confrontation with his dimensionally-displaced father, make the packaging irrelevant.

review
comics_librarian
Bath Haus: A Thriller | P. J. Vernon
post image
Mehso-so

It suffers from the typical flaws as any domestic thriller, but the "make it gay" gimmick may make it feel like something new to typical domestic thriller readers, including the the bathhouse shaming.

KathyWheeler I heard the author talk about this book on a podcast during Pride Month. The author of The Guncle was on the same podcast. I couldn‘t decide if I wanted to read this one or not. 1y
8 likes1 comment
review
comics_librarian
post image
Mehso-so

Some of the plot elements feel a bit thin, even for high concept fantasy, but the continued character growth easily outweighs the flaws.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

With insight and utility, particularly the chapters on nonfiction, cataloging, and graphic medicine, this is a valuable resource for academic libraries.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Pickpick

A rare second sequel that feels even fresher than the prior, Pocket‘s continuing adventures through the Bard‘s world is a fond pageant you must see.

review
comics_librarian
Clown in a Cornfield | Adam Cesare
post image
Pickpick

With gore galore, a cinematic sensibility, and some biting social commentary, this YA horror novel has intergenerational appeal.

review
comics_librarian
Spider-Man: Life Story | Chip Zdarsky
post image
Mehso-so

It focuses much on Peter‘s trauma without the familiar offset of humor, but this off-beat, standalone, Spidey story still has lots of heart.

Moonprismpower Well your reading buddy seems to like it. 😄 2y
11 likes1 comment
review
comics_librarian
My Heart Is a Chainsaw | Stephen Graham Jones
post image
Pickpick

With a literary quality that astonishingly complements its myriad pop culture references, this slasher-obsessed piece will have you stupefied until its frantic conclusion.

review
comics_librarian
post image
Mehso-so

The writing and the art seem nearly ready to buckle as the series goes on, but this entry is salvaged by some emotional surprises.

LibrarianRyan I agree. Ihave not posted my review of the last and final book. If you were reading the books instead of the issues, I think book three was the worse. And I hate all the other mini comics like Secret Squirrel and Adam Ant inbetween. I liked the Scrappy ones because they connected directly to the story and eventually merge, but the others... no thank you. 2y
4 likes1 comment
review
comics_librarian
The Oracle Year: A Novel | Charles Soule
post image
Pickpick

A deftly-paced tale with an excellent supporting cast, this novel about power and free-will manages to surpass its already solid premise.

11 likes1 stack add
review
comics_librarian
Mexican Gothic | Silvia Moreno-Garcia
post image
Pickpick

A read-alike for “Lovecraft Country,” “The Ruins,” and more, “Mexican Gothic” still stands alone with a compelling main character worth rooting for and villains and a setting that will make you shudder.

review
comics_librarian
Whisper Down the Lane: A Novel | Clay McLeod Chapman
post image
Pickpick

With astute commentary about truth and the “satanic panic” from the ‘80s, this thriller invites the reader to enjoy the ride from intriguing beginning to the stinger of an ending.

review
comics_librarian
Ring Shout | P Djeli Clark
post image
Pickpick

If you‘re not woke by the plot, you‘ll be adrenalized by the action; regardless, RING SHOUT is monstrously fun.

SamAnne Just got my copy from the library. Will be front and center this coming week-end. Looks great. 2y
11 likes1 comment