Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Dark Between
The Dark Between | Sonia Gensler
4 posts | 5 read | 2 to read
A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray. At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and sances are all the rageeven in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind. Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the graveor risk joining the spirit world themselves. From the Hardcover edition.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
dizie_lizie
The Dark Between | Sonia Gensler
post image

#currentlyreading and gearing up for spooky season

25 likes1 stack add
review
ulrichyumiodd
The Dark Between | Sonia Gensler
post image
Pickpick

Imagine a space between life and death, where spirits linger. What if someone could reach it? What if others were ready to do anything to share that ability? When they meet, Kate, Elsie and Asher are unexpectedly caught in an intrigue involving death, spirits and dangerous experiments.

The story answers a lot of questions, yet leaves you with many more. The characters are fantastic. A great read for lovers of the Victorian era or of spiritualism.

quote
ulrichyumiodd
The Dark Between | Sonia Gensler
post image

"Worship isn't the same as respect." Great words. Great book.

Jess7 Welcome to Litsy! 📚 14mo
julesG Welcome to Litsy! 14mo
BookNerd9906 Welcome! 👏 14mo
See All 6 Comments
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Welcome 🙌🏻🎊 14mo
ulrichyumiodd Thank you!! ❤️ 14mo
RaimeyGallant Welcome! 13mo
8 likes6 comments
review
Jess_Franzino
The Dark Between | Sonia Gensler
post image
Pickpick

How can there be no Litsy reviews for this book yet? It was FANTASTIC! I could go on for days about it! I LOVE all things Victorian, especially when they deal with The Metaphysical/Spiritual trend in the era. Not only did this book center around that, but it was flawlessly researched & the characters acted appropriately for the time period. Though it‘s marketed as YA, it‘s a bit heavier & more subtle than most modern YA books.

monalyisha I liked this one a whole bunch, too! 1y
monalyisha Just went back and looked at my (Goodreads) review & saw that I was really mad about the ending. Not that I have ANY idea what that means at this point (I read it in 2014). 😅 1y
Jess_Franzino @monalyisha The ending is a bit ambiguous. It leaves room for a sequel, but I found the ending worked well on its‘ own given the tone of the book. Again, I think this book was wrongly marketed as “YA”. Should have been in “General Fiction”, where cryptic endings are a bit more accepted. 1y
See All 9 Comments
monalyisha Some books *are* just marketed incorrectly; I agree! (Though as a general rule, I‘m cool with ambiguous endings & respect YA authors who can embrace them & teach teen readers their value [thinking especially of Maggie Stiefvater & Lauren Oliver here]). Apparently 2014 was a big year for me feeling that way, because I also read Carey Wallace‘s tagged (ghostly) book and could NOT get over the fact that it was marketed as middle-grade fic! Oh well! 1y
Jess_Franzino @monalyisha Honestly, YA (and I do enjoy a fair share of YA books), tend to be more fast-paced & wrap things up in a semi-hopeful way. This book was more subtle & reminded me of A.S. Byatt rather than Libba Bray. It‘s a shame, since I think the way the YA label was particularly pushed with marketing this book, it lost a lot of readers. It‘s way more geared towards fans of general Historic Fiction. 1y
monalyisha @Jess_Franzino Now I‘m tempted to reread it & see if I‘m still mad about it/still have the same questions. Which I won‘t...there are far too many books! But still. 1y
Jess_Franzino @monalyisha I honestly LOVE all things dealing with the rise in Spiritualism during the Victorian Era. Got a great book today that deals with the same topic, (which I‘ll tag). I‘m kinda on a Spiritualism kick this month 😂 1y
monalyisha @Jess_Franzino Definitely interested in reading your review of that one! 🤗 1y
Jess_Franzino @monalyisha So far, it‘s really interesting! I‘ve never seen a book written in this sort of style before, but it works! Really gets you thinking, even in the first few chapters. I LOVE when books are a bit “off the beaten path”. 1y
29 likes2 stack adds9 comments