Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Anatomy of Desire
Anatomy of Desire | L. R. Dorn
5 posts | 4 read | 7 to read
'Reads like your favorite podcast, the hit crime doc you'll want to binge'Josh Malerman, New York Times bestselling author of Bird BoxAMBITION. DESIRE. BETRAYAL. MURDER?With followers numbering in the hundreds of thousands, a glamorous circle of friends, and a famous boyfriend, the life that fitness influencer Cleo Ray has always wanted is within her grasp.Then, just before joining her friends for a holiday in the mountains, Cleo and a young woman named Rebecca set off in a canoe on a deserted lake. An hour later, Rebecca is found dead in the water and Cleo has gone missing.When word gets out, Cleo is going viral, but for all the wrong reasons. Who was the girl in the canoe? And did Cleo have anything to do with her death? If Cleo is innocent, why did she try to run? Charged with murder, this social media influencer's biggest platform is no longer Instagram, it's the witness stand...Told in the form of a true crime documentary, The Anatomy of Desire is a gripping and original psych suspense novel for the social media era - perfect for fans of You, Good Me Bad Me and the hit podcast Serial.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
SW-T
Anatomy of Desire | L. R. Dorn
post image
Pickpick

This was an awesome #audiolisten! Fun, fast, and told podcast style with multiple narrators, the characters were authentic and diverse in their ideologies and backgrounds. Wasn‘t expecting that ending, but upon reflection, it totally fit. Definitely recommend it.

25 likes1 stack add
review
Chelsea.Poole
Anatomy of Desire | L. R. Dorn
post image
Pickpick

A full cast audiobook in the format of a podcast/docuseries told from many, many points of view surrounding the drowning death of a woman in her twenties. All fiction, but reminiscent of Making a Murderer and other true crime narratives. The MC is a fitness influencer. So basically, this book is hitting all the trends. Much of the action is in the courtroom. A fast, entertaining read for me, but didn‘t blow me away. Audio is 💯 the way to go!

87 likes3 stack adds
review
KristiAhlers
Anatomy of Desire | L. R. Dorn
post image
Pickpick

This was a super fast read told in a series of interviews. Think along the lines of a documentary or podcast. Story revolves are an influencer and really demonstrates how we all basically live two different lives. Our social media life and real life. Drama, murder and suspense. That‘s what this book is all about.

review
FelinesAndFelonies
Anatomy of Desire | L. R. Dorn
post image
Pickpick

Cleo Ray is a fit-fluencer charged with murdering her girlfriend Beck in order to pursue a relationship with her internet famous boyfriend Sandy. Cleo proclaims her innocence & never waivers. But, how can you believe someone who has created their identity based on so many omissions & lies?
The story is revealed through a collection of interviews compiled for a podcast & presented as a series of episodes. 🔽

FelinesAndFelonies (continued) It took me the whole first episode to develop a rhythm in the writing. Once I had that understood I was able to read it quickly. It had elements of a legal thriller & I thought it was quite good. 2y
62 likes1 comment
review
FelinesAndFelonies
Anatomy of Desire | L. R. Dorn
post image
Pickpick

This book is written like a pod cast & uses a series of interviews & episodes to share the story. It took me the whole first "episode" to get into the swing of the style. Once my brain ? got over that obstacle, I flew through the book. This is a modern retelling of An American Tragedy.
This reads more like a legal thriller or cop drama but was a good book anyway.
This is formatted in a way that it is probably better as an audiobook

63 likes2 stack adds