Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Defy Or Defend
Defy Or Defend: A Delightfully Deadly Novella | Gail Carriger
14 posts | 3 read | 2 to read
A vampire hive descending into madness. A beautiful spy with a sparkly plan. And the man who must keep them from killing each other. New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger brings you a charming story of love, espionage, and Gothic makeovers set in her popular Parasolverse. SPY Dimity Plumleigh-Teignmott, code name Honey Bee, is the War Office's best and most decorative fixer. She's sweet and chipper, but oddly stealthy, and surprisingly effective given the right incentives. VERSUS KNIGHT Sir Crispin Bontwee was knighted for his military service, but instead of retiring, he secretly went to work for the War Office. Mostly he enjoys his job, except when he must safeguard the Honey Bee. Neither of them are vampire experts, but when Nottingham Hive goes badly Goth, only Dimity can stop their darkness from turning bloody. And only Crispin can stop an enthusiastic Dimity from death by vampire. In a battle for survival (and wallpaper), Dimity must learn that not all that sparkles is good, while Cris discovers he likes honey a lot more than he thought. "This intoxicatingly witty parody will appeal to a wide cross-section of romance, fantasy and steampunk fans." ~ Publishers Weekly, starred review (Soulless) Spinning off from the Finishing School series, featuring deadly ladies of quality, this story stands alone but chronologically follows Poison or Protect. It's Cold Comfort Farm meets Queer Eye meets What We Do In The Shadows from the author of the Parasol Protectorate books, perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Jodi Taylor, or Meljean Brook. Delicate Sensibilities? Contains fraternizing vampires and one very curious young lady, who asks about it, sometimes in detail but mostly in retrospect. May also involve excessive use of velvet, melodramatic poetry, and the strategic application of interpretive ballet.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Crinoline_Laphroaig
post image
Pickpick

The #great2022parasolversereread moved on to one of my favorites.
💚💚💚💚💚

review
hissingpotatoes
post image
Pickpick

4/5⭐ I love when Carriger's books focus on a particular household. The pure chaos of all the characters & one person (also chaos) trying to wrangle them is absolutely delightful. Dimity and Cris are so stupid (for each other) & I love them. The empowerment & validation Justice received from literally every character to be herself without fuss (aside from, of course, the paramount business of clothes shopping) made my heart swell. #bookspinbingo

quote
hissingpotatoes
post image

“May we all find our safety and our sparkles, in whatever form they take.“

Ahhhhh such a beautiful sentiment made even more so in the context of the story.

blurb
hissingpotatoes
post image

“She read the letters she was purported to have written very carefully, wincing a bit at the grammar. No serial comma, really? What did they take her for? An artist might be a tad lax in her missives, but to drop a comma? How ghastly.“

I do love a good reference in support of the Oxford comma.

blurb
hissingpotatoes
post image

Only Gail Carriger can finish the physical description of a character with “he now resembled a surprised but cuddly mongoose“ and have a perfect image of a human instantly enter the reader's mind. 😆

quote
WeeWeegieBookworm
post image

"It was pleasing to trail behind a woman who walked like she had places to be and people to kill."

review
Michollio
post image
Pickpick

Gail Carriger creates fantastic characters, and this book was filled with them. At some point I'm going to have to reread the Finishing School series and then this series so that I can better remember the characters.

#RippedBodiceBingo: Meddling matchmakers
#SummerFun: LGBTQ+ book/author
#SummerFunJR: Female heroine, Set in another country

StayCurious don't you love when you can tick off multiple prompts? 2y
12 likes1 comment
quote
Crinoline_Laphroaig
post image

Well I'm not English. So here's a fabulous book quote for all us who grew up with less than stellar dads on this Father's Day. One of the many things I love about Gail Carriger is she includes characters like Crispin who not only survive but thrive. That's something all us readers from dysfunctional families need.
💚💚💚💚💚
#great2020parasolversedoover

blurb
Crinoline_Laphroaig
post image

May Reading has been my Challenges, Sense and Sensibility Readalong which will finish in June, and catching up on my Book of the Month reads.
Favorites: Defy or Defend and The Jane Austen Society. 📚
#mymonthinbooks #may
#bookofthemonth #janeandtheyear2020
#top10challengedbooks #pemberlittens
#shadowhuntersreread #malec
#great2020parasolversedoover
#fhbookclubchallenge #mymonthinchallenges

review
Crinoline_Laphroaig
post image
Pickpick

My Books and Brews Club have been inspired by Book of the Month to make our own drinks and books things.
I have a habit of barreling through books I've been looking forward to. Especially when it's series or world that I love. I loved this new book so much, I turned around and read it again and savored every word.
This is destined to be a happy read that I return to over and over. It's sparkly fun.
#great2020parasolversedoover 🥂 🍾

Crinoline_Laphroaig Why Sparkling Wine and not Champagne? Dimity's jewelry sparkles are made of paste. 2y
Crinoline_Laphroaig Plus "we should all be so lucky as to go wafting about dramatically in a trailing nightgown on occasion."

2y
Crinoline_Laphroaig I live in the country. We have an acre of land alongside a county road that leads to marina. I'm sure the neighbors and fisherman driving by will be highly entertained as I wander amongst my flowers. 😉 2y
31 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
Crinoline_Laphroaig
post image
Pickpick

After yesterday's humidity & storms, beautiful spring morning today. Cuppa of Irish Breakfast tea will set me to rights after late night. Read until I was bleary-eyed. Couldn't put it down. It sparkled! New characters & old friends. Dimity was her charming self. Ending & Epilogue gave me all the feels.
💚💚💚💚💚
#ireadpastmybedtime #justonemorechapter
#great2020parasolversedoover
#booksandtea #lifeinthecountry

Crinoline_Laphroaig My May Fictional Hangover Book Club Challenge - Shaken not Stirred: New Take on an Old Story. I've never read Cold Comfort Farm, must remedy that. 2y
Slajaunie I love your frogs!! I collect all things frog! 2y
Crinoline_Laphroaig @Slajaunie all mine frogs are doing yoga. We also have some really cute real frogs that live around our deck. They particularly like my flowerpots . 2y
Slajaunie In our old house they used to get on the windows every night. 🐸💚💚💚 2y
41 likes4 comments
blurb
Crinoline_Laphroaig
post image

?"OKLAHOMA, where the wind comes sweeping down the plains." We don't have cows yet ? but I've grabbed my Go Bag and taken my Tornado Precautions. ?

#springtimeinoklahoma #ohhailyeah
#wevegotcows #twisterthemovie
#gobag #tornadoprecautions
#fraidyholeparty #itwasastormynight
#laphroaig #pistachios #dimity

blurb
katy4peas
post image

Sqee!! 😍😍 Book mail! ❤️ #finishingschool

Crinoline_Laphroaig How wonderful! 2y
47 likes1 comment
blurb
Crinoline_Laphroaig
post image

Dimity is here! The reason for the #great2020parasolversedoover.
💚💚💚💚💚