Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Saving Francesca
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
23 posts | 49 read | 17 to read
Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will.A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, and Looking for Alaska.Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastians, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francescauntil she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, andhardest of allherself.Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of Jellicoe Road, as well as Looking for Alibrandi and Finnikin of the Rock.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
JanuarieTimewalker13
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
Pickpick

Great YA read set in Sydney. Francesca is starting an academy that was previously all boys. Her mom goes through a major depression. Her world is not the happy one it had been. She finds that some people who may not have been “cool” are quite kind and caring, and loads of fun. Such a sweet story. You know when you love a book and you think, “I‘d like to hang out with the author”? That‘s how I feel about Melina Marchetta🇦🇺

blurb
JanuarieTimewalker13
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

I couldn‘t resist taking a photo of Saving Francesca with my chocolate covered cannoli from Vegan Treats, Pa by way of Kaya‘s Kichen Belmar❤️

JanuarieTimewalker13 Shout out to Lauren, my server!!! 9mo
DivineDiana Vegan Treats is on my “to do” list! 😉 9mo
ravenlee Nom nom nom 9mo
See All 7 Comments
JanuarieTimewalker13 @DivineDiana oh my goodness, their desserts are so good!! I‘m not sure where Bethlehem is from Monmouth County, but I‘m pretty sure I was there years and years ago, but from Long Island. Lol. Have you been to Kaya‘s? They have an excellent selection of their goods. If you go, their quesadilla with buffalo tempeh is to die for! That‘s my go to dish. 9mo
JanuarieTimewalker13 @ravenlee lol....that‘s exactly what I was like!! 9mo
DivineDiana I have not been to Kaya‘s but thank you for the recommendation! 😀 9mo
41 likes7 comments
blurb
margreads
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

I am very much looking forward to Melina Marchetta's new book but it has been a while since I spent time with the characters so I am going back to the beginning
#aussieauthors #audiobook #awwc

12 likes1 stack add
quote
Gillyreads
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

My choice for the hour six challenge. Best first line from my #24in48 TBR is this one. It‘s simple but I‘ve always remembered it.

Joanne1 Great book. 2y
17 likes1 comment
review
Gillyreads
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image
Pickpick

Book two for @24in48 done. Reread one of my favourites ❤️

13 likes1 stack add
review
Jaya
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
Pickpick

Another great Sydney set novel. Francesca is trying to adjust to life at a new high school, which involves making new friends and fitting in among the farting, sports-loving boys of the former boys-only parochial school. Then her mother falls into a deep depression and her loving family starts to splinter. Can Francesca keep it all together? And what about the cute Will who‘s a yes/no/maybe?A good mix of teenage ridiculousness & adult complexity.

blurb
Bindrosbookshelf
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

#bookishbloggersunite tag is up, prompt this week was Favourite Women Writers that you have read and recommend, writers you want to read more of and women writers you want to get to. Link to blog in bio if you want to check out my answers 😊📚📚📚

blurb
DoodlesDistractions
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

#RiotGrams | Day 8 | #BooksLovedAsATeen these are some of the books that I could never give up from my teen years. Saving Francesca, Sisterhood of the traveling Pants and Kite Runner definitely have the most wear and tear. #catchup

10 likes1 stack add
blurb
BookThingo
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

Found this gorgeous street library in Newtown! That free Melina Marchetta book is an absolute treasure. 💛

#streetlibrary #booksinthewild #melinamarchetta #littlelibrary #streetlibrary #library

9 likes1 stack add
review
Missusb
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image
Pickpick

#backtoreading #anditsaugust #englishclassclassic

Published in 2003, ten years after her breakout debut novel, Looking for Alibrandi, Saving Francesca is Marchetta's second novel. Just as acclaimed, just as popular, it's a stronger, tighter narrative. It is a staple in many Australian English classrooms when students complete the Oz lit unit. It led to The Piper's Son, and we will soon have Jimmy's story (in 2018, hopefully).

review
Cat_Has_Books
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image
Pickpick

I'm almost done with Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta! There are many beautiful layers to this book. It's about a girl who attends an all boys school with only 30 other girls, and between that and her mother's battle with depression, this book is packed with lots of comedy, romance and heartfelt family drama. I especially have to praise Marchetta on her hilarious dialogue; I've laughed out loud several times while reading this book!

review
thechronicbookworm
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image
Pickpick

"Do something that scares you everyday."
-Melina Marchetta
Saving Francesca is one of my favourite ya reads ever. If you love contemporary YA romances then this one is for you. I also love the family dynamics and friendships that are in this book. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ #books #bookworm

wovenwithpages I love Melina Marchetta 💙 3y
18 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
brandymuses
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

Some favorite books by Australian Authors for #feistyfeb

review
clutteredbooks
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image
Pickpick

This was me. Yesterday. Stealing quick reading times in between patients 😂

Rating: 🌝🌝🌝🌝🌝❤

Marchetta handles YA contemporary well. I love her fantasy and now I love her as well. *added to autobuy authors*

Chachic You're a doctor? Read Piper next! 3y
britt_brooke 💚💚💚 3y
clutteredbooks @Chachic haha yes when am not too busy traipsing around 😉 Well I don't have Piper's yet but I do have Alibrandi! 3y
21 likes1 stack add4 comments
blurb
clutteredbooks
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

This book. This book is hitting all the right spots making my heart ache bit by bit.

#reading

Chachic I think The Piper's Son is even better.😁 3y
clutteredbooks @Chachic that thought makes me excited more so because I liked Saving Francesca! 3y
17 likes2 comments
blurb
clutteredbooks
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

What's your go to pick-me-up drink?

Happy midweek bookish friends! 💕💕💕

#litsygram

Chachic You have to read The Piper's Son after you finish this one. So good! 3y
clutteredbooks @Chachic I don't have that one yet. I do have Looking for Alibrandi! 3y
Chachic Ah, The Piper's Son is a companion novel to Saving Francesca. The main character in that one is Tom from this book. 3y
See All 18 Comments
clutteredbooks @Chachic Oh! I guess will have to get that one too! 3y
Chachic Yes, you do! But maybe you can get it after you finish Saving Francesca? My favorite Marchettas are Jellicoe Road and The Piper's Son. 3y
JEMoutrageous Starbucks tall skim no-foam chai. Now I have to hurry up and get ready for work so I can hit Starbucks on the way in. 3y
clutteredbooks @Chachic currently mine is her fantasy series 😊 do you read fantasy? It's a good series! 3y
clutteredbooks @JEMoutrageous have fun at work 💕😊😊😊 3y
JEMoutrageous @wanderful.books I love fantasy. I may have to check it out. 3y
clutteredbooks @JEMoutrageous Yes, please do! If I could recommend another awesome series? Do check out Megan Whalen Turner's The Queen's Thief series. The first book 3y
JEMoutrageous @wanderful.books Stacked! Thanks for the rec. 3y
Chachic @wanderful.books Yep, I've read the Lumatere books but sadly, I'm a bigger fan of her contemps than her fantasy. In case you didn't know, MWT is a fan of Melina's books: https://chachic.wordpress.com/2012/03/21/marchetta-madness-guest-post-by-megan-w... 3y
clutteredbooks @JEMoutrageous My pleasure! It's one of my all time faves so I had to recommend it. Maria Snyder's Chronicles of Ixia is another great series. Book 1 3y
clutteredbooks @Chachic haha yup! You mentioned it last time... and Marchetta wrote a thriller btw! Have you read it? My friend says it's good! 3y
Chachic It's more a mystery than suspense/thriller yata. Haven't read it but friends have said it's good. 3y
clutteredbooks @Chachic haha yup somewhere along those lines! 3y
SeeMichelleRead Marchetta is such a comfort read for me - but maybe I'd pick ALIBRANDI or THE PIPER'S SON. And yes, her newest is so good! 3y
18 likes2 stack adds18 comments
review
[DELETED] 1409720085
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image
Pickpick

I loved it, I loved it, I LOVED IT. This picture of my poor dog in the snow is unrelated to the book but thanks to the blizzard we're having and a sick cuddly baby I get to read all day.

quote
[DELETED] 1409720085
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

This book is making me laugh and cry.

melissathebeautiful I love this book so much. 3y
31 likes1 comment
blurb
[DELETED] 1409720085
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

Letter "s" for #LitsyAtoZ. I'm almost to hour 14 of #24in48.

blurb
MLVReads
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
This post contains spoilers
show me
post image

The parallels between my life and Francesca's life are frightening, especially considering this book was published in 2003, my sophomore/junior year. I really wish I had this book when I was that age. To know that someone out there wrote something so similar to what I experienced would have been a great comfort. This is a reminder that books can be healing, can speak volumes, and can bring comfort to people.

BookishMarginalia Hug💜 -- and yes, that's the true magic of books 3y
6 likes1 comment
blurb
MLVReads
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image

Took a little while to get into this, but I'm really enjoying it. I wish I had this book when I was younger!

review
moniquereads
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
post image
Pickpick

Reading this was a pleasant surprise. I didn't expect that I'd like it but I did. There were a few moments there when I wanted to shake everyone back to sanity, but it was all good. Loved the witty dialogue, funny characters, and the romance, of course. The family thing nearly brought tears to my eyes. And then I listened to Natalie Merchant's "Kind and Generous" as indirectly suggested by the last chapter, and that sealed the deal.

review
lostinagoodbk
Saving Francesca | Melina Marchetta
Pickpick

In my opinion this book beats out Looking For Alibrandi and is even better than On the Jellicoe Rd, which I didn't think was possible. #lovethisbook

3 likes1 stack add