Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
A Murderous Malady
A Murderous Malady: A Florence Nightingale Mystery | Christine Trent
5 posts | 3 read | 2 to read
For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent's second Florence Nightingale mystery. Cholera has broken out in London, but Florence Nightingale has bigger problems when people begin dying of a far more intentional cause--murder. The London summer of 1854 is drawing to a close when a deadly outbreak of cholera grips the city. Florence Nightingale is back on the scene marshaling her nurses to help treat countless suffering patients at Middlesex Hospital as the disease tears through the Soho slums. But beyond the dangers of the disease, something even more evil is seeping through the ailing streets of London. It begins with an attack on the carriage of Florence's friend, Elizabeth Herbert, wife to Secretary at War Sidney Herbert. Florence survives, but her coachman does not. Within hours, Sidney's valet stumbles into the hospital, mutters a few cryptic words about the attack, and promptly dies from cholera. Frantic that an assassin is stalking his wife, Sidney enlists Florence's help, who accepts but has little to go on save for the valet's last words and a curious set of dice in his jacket pocket. Soon, the suspects are piling up faster than cholera victims, as there seems to be no end to the number of people who bear a grudge against the Herbert household. Now, Florence is in a race against time--not only to save the victims of a lethal disease, but to foil a murderer with a disturbingly sinister goal--in A Murderous Malady.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
DarcysMom
post image
Mehso-so

🌟🌟🌟
#Netgalley

quote
julesG
post image

An ARC from ages ago

Need an impromptu #HistoricalFictionInaccuracyAnnoyanceSupportGroup meeting.

It's the year 1854.
Set in London.
The MC is Florence Nightingale.
FIRST chapter

"...dashing into a taxi."

TAXI??

The German at the bottom of the Google search says: time-line of usage of Taxi/Taximeter

1854 has a flat line.

????

#BookishPetPeeve

Birdsong28 They had things such as Hansom cabs which were horse drawn taxis if that is any help @julesg 2mo
julesG @Birdsong28 Not really, but thank you. I mean, I know they had hansoms and hackneys, but in 1854 no Londoner worth their salt would have called it taxi. That's what's getting my hackles up. 2mo
See All 22 Comments
JazzFeathers Not even in the 1920s were they called 'taxis' 😒 2mo
Birdsong28 @julesG Suppose so, it's annoying when they can't get it right or simplify it for the general audience as they think we can't understand it. 😀📚📖 2mo
julesG @JazzFeathers My point exactly. Took me so out of the story - within the first chapter - that I'm not sure I even want to read it now. 2mo
julesG @Birdsong28 soooo annoying! It's not even a big deal to look it up. I can only hope they caught this glitch before the book was published. 2mo
Birdsong28 @julesG Probably not!! 2mo
8little_paws Yeah this drives me nuts also 2mo
8little_paws Something I read in the past year, I forgot what, used the term "ok" in a time period way before it was commonly used and I had a hard time taking the book seriously from them on. 2mo
julesG @8little_paws I'm eating the tagged book right now. The characters use "okay/are you okay?" all the time. But it's set in 1941. 2mo
CoverToCoverGirl Yikes! That‘s definitely a very jarring oversight that would take me out the story. 😔🤯 2mo
Sarah83 In Anthony Horowitz book about Sherlock Holmes there was used computer instead of typewriter... 🤔😆 2mo
julesG @Sarah83 Noooo! 😱 2mo
Sarah83 Ohhhhh yes 😭 that's why, I don't like the book and why I didn't read a book written by him for a long time. 2mo
julesG @Sarah83 Understandable. 2mo
8little_paws @julesG this book was either pre 1850, from what I recall. 2mo
GingerAntics That is an absolute fail!!! I would have thought that was an easy one. 🤦🏼‍♀️ 2mo
GingerAntics There is absolutely NOTHING for any use of taxi until right around 1900. 2mo
RavenLovelyReads Is it bad that I giggled myself silly after I read it?? 😜 2mo
julesG @RavenLovelyReads Absolutely not. 😁 2mo
55 likes22 comments
blurb
DarcysMom
post image
review
McCombsonMain
post image
Pickpick

Imagine not having a source of running water in your home. Imagine you have to walk to a communal water pump to get your water. Imagine, further, that the water isn‘t exactly crystal clear. This was the case for much of Britain until the 20th century. In A Murderous Malady, Christine Trent takes readers back to London in 1854 when little was known about health and hygiene. https://wp.me/p1xW0b-1Z3 #suspense #mystery #historical

review
Karylahn
post image
Pickpick

The author blends fact and fiction marvelously, as she depicts a tale in which Florence Nightingale (Flo) is not only a nursing and medical research icon, but also an investigator.
I loved this book! Overall, the plot is engaging in the characters a well-developed. I was engrossed in this book from the beginning to the end. The story wraps up nicely, leaving the reader satisfied and eager to see what Trent may have in store for Flo.5/5 #netgalley

6 likes1 stack add