Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Ragged Edge of Night
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
16 posts | 7 read | 15 to read
For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale comes an emotionally gripping, beautifully written historical novel about extraordinary hope, redemption, and one man's search for light during the darkest times of World War II. Germany, 1942. Franciscan friar Anton Starzmann is stripped of his place in the world when his school is seized by the Nazis. He relocates to a small German hamlet to wed Elisabeth Herter, a widow who seeks a marriage--in name only--to a man who can help raise her three children. Anton seeks something too--atonement for failing to protect his young students from the wrath of the Nazis. But neither he nor Elisabeth expects their lives to be shaken once again by the inescapable rumble of war. As Anton struggles to adapt to the roles of husband and father, he learns of the Red Orchestra, an underground network of resisters plotting to assassinate Hitler. Despite Elisabeth's reservations, Anton joins this army of shadows. But when the SS discovers his schemes, Anton will embark on a final act of defiance that may cost him his life--even if it means saying goodbye to the family he has come to love more than he ever believed possible.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
Texreader
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image
Pickpick

Barely a pick, because it is an ok story with good characters. The attempt at suspense is unsuccessful. One never feels the MC is in real peril. The narrative is often wordy and dramatic, when the action sufficiently tells the story. And the title, I have no idea how it has anything to do with the story. Three stars.

64 likes1 stack add
blurb
Texreader
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image

Up next and I‘m already 1/3 through it.

blurb
GypsyKat
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image

They‘re putting this in the same category with All The Light We Cannot See, and The Nightingale. Sold! Let‘s hope it lives up to the challenge! #AudibleDailyDeal

starlight97 Onto my tbr it goes! 2mo
59 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
bookishkris
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image

I‘ve opened all of my different ebook libraries multiple times today looking for a book to grab me. The pressure is real; what if I pick wrong? What if something I‘ve been excited for isn‘t as good as I‘d hoped?

Finally I took a breath and picked this. I hope I made a good choice.

LauraJ The struggle is still real! 4mo
DivineDiana Nothing ventured; nothing gained! 4mo
48 likes2 comments
blurb
nu-bibliophile
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image

Went to the store to get my mind off my presentation (I hate public speaking. I don't know why I do this to myself😨) and got myself a new book and Chance a new name tag 🤩

lahousewyfe Love that tag! Made me chuckle. 😍 6mo
nu-bibliophile @lahousewyfe Thanks... the guy at the store was laughing about it too 😁 6mo
32 likes2 comments
review
irrelevance10
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image
Pickpick

This is the touching true story of Anton Starzmann, and it was a great read. Growing up in America, when we learn about WWII, we basically hear that Germany was bad, and Hitler was charismatic enough to dupe his entire country into believing his vile propaganda. This book shows that that was not necessarily the case. It's a fascinating perspective, and I'm really glad I read it. I give this one 4 out of 5 stars.

1 like1 stack add
quote
irrelevance10
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image

Whatever sins have brought us here still reside in our blood, even to the third and fourth generation. Yet You said, in your boundless love and wisdom, Weeping may endure for a night—joy comes with the morning. I cannot help but know it. Against all sense, I believe. Somewhere, beyond the ragged edge of night, light bleeds into this world.

review
anwade88
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image
Mehso-so

Story about Germans during WWII and one man‘s attempt to redeem his self.

Finally finished. It took me a long time to get through. I found the thoughts of Anton too lengthy and repetitive. Some of the symbols (the stork) would have been much stronger if they had been developed sooner and deeper.

It‘s neat that this is a true family story. At the same time I think the authors admiration made characters not dynamic enough.

Interesting story.

review
LittleMummyMe
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image
Pickpick

4/5; A really nice book to read. This tells the story of a man who does whatever he can to resist the Nazi party during the war. As well as face his failures, find his strength and protect his family.

blurb
Texreader
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image

Finally made my Amazon Kindle First Pick.

blurb
Felso
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image

My September First Reads pick.

TrishB I picked this one too 👍🏻 9mo
Jas16 I also picked this one 9mo
47 likes2 comments
blurb
booksandsympathy
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image


Franciscan friar Anton Starzmann is stripped of his place in the world when his school is seized by the Nazis. He relocates to a small German hamlet to wed Elisabeth Herter, a widow who seeks marriage to a man to help raise her three children. Anton seeks something too—atonement for failing to protect his young students from the Nazis. But neither he nor Elisabeth expects their lives to be shaken once again by the inescapable rumble of war.

booksandsympathy This was my Amazon first read pick for the month. Anton was a real person: the grandfather of the author's husband. 9mo
24 likes1 comment
blurb
JulieHartman419
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image

This is my September #kindlefirst pick. I am so stinking excited to read this!
#theraggededgeofnight #historicalfiction #WWII #WW2

blurb
LittleMummyMe
The Ragged Edge of Night | Olivia Hawker
post image

My kindle first choice.
#kindlefirst #historicalfiction

DebReads4fun Mine too! 9mo
LittleMummyMe @DebReads4fun 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼📚 9mo
19 likes1 stack add2 comments