Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Black Shack Alley
Black Shack Alley | Joseph Zobel
2 posts | 2 read | 1 to read
The semiautobiographical Caribbean novel that explores shifting race relations in early twentieth-century colonial Martinique, with a foreword by Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau A Penguin Classic Following in the tradition of Richard Wright's Black Boy, Joseph Zobel's semiautobiographical 1950 novel Black Shack Alley chronicles the coming-of-age of Jos, a young boy grappling with issues of power and identity in colonial Martinique. As Jos transitions from childhood to young adulthood and from rural plantations to urban Fort-de-France on a quest for upward mobility, he bears witness to and struggles against the various manifestations of white supremacy, both subtle and overt, that will alter the course of his life. His ally in this struggle is his grandmother, M'man Tine, who fights her own weariness to release at least one child from the plantation village, a dirt street lined with the shacks of sugarcane workers. Zobel's masterpiece, the basis for the award-winning film Sugar Cane Alley directed by Euzhan Palcy, is a powerful testament to twentieth-century life in Martinique, with a foreword by award-winning Martinican author Patrick Chamoiseau.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Hooked_on_books
Black Shack Alley | Joseph Zobel
post image
Pickpick

When José is growing up, slavery has been abolished on #Martinique but many of the black residents still survive in slavery-like conditions. We see him growing up first with his grandmother then his mother and the juxtaposition of reality aside the frequent joy of being a child. This edition had some critiques with it that really added to the story. I often don‘t like childhood stories, but this one worked for me.

#ReadingAmericas2023

Librarybelle Great review! 5mo
48 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
catsuit_mango
La Rue Cases-Negres | Joseph Zobel
post image

I was hesitating between this one and the Pratchett reflections... And I know that at one point I just have to read this even if it is probably not a happy book. so here I go.

6 likes1 stack add