Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
When You Look Like Us
When You Look Like Us | Pamela N. Harris
6 posts | 5 read | 6 to read
From debut author Pamela Harris comes a timely, gripping teen novel about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls disappearances are too often overlooked. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson. When you look like usbrown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fadeseveryone else thinks youre trouble. No one even blinks twice over a missing black girl from public housing because she mustve brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister Nicole just got caught up with her boyfrienda drug dealerand his friends. But shes been gone too long. Nic, where are you? If I hadnt hung up on her that night, she would be at our house, spending time with Grandma. If I was a better brother, shed be finishing senior year instead of being another name on a missing persons list. Its time to step up, to do what the Newport News police department wont. Bring her home.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Emily92Bibliophile
When You Look Like Us | Pamela N. Harris
post image

📚Today marks the first day of my ONE WEEK OFF before I start my a summer grad classes 😱Have been somewhat of a hermit the past few weeks due to my astronomical collection development project, but now IT IS FINISHED. Hoping to get some reading done in the next 7 days.

review
Vee_Bookish
When You Look Like Us | Pamela N. Harris
post image
Mehso-so

This murder-mystery was okay, but I felt like Jay did little to help his sister until the girl he was interested in started looking for her too.

blurb
Lovesbooks87
When You Look Like Us | Pamela N. Harris
post image

When one of the littles in my class gave me a gift card to our downtown stores, I knew I was going to use it at our local indie. So here is my mini book haul. Only brought the two books that I went in for! Very proud of myself!

review
TracyReadsBooks
When You Look Like Us | Pamela N. Harris
post image
Pickpick

A powerful YA debut about the lengths a brother will go to find his missing sister. Jay & Nic live with their grandmother in public housing. They‘ve drifted apart as Jay is a rule follower while his sister delights in pushing boundaries. When she doesn‘t come home one night, he doesn‘t worry but days later when she still hasn‘t appeared, he knows something is wrong. Finding help proves to be difficult & if Nic‘s coming home, Jay has to find her.

blurb
TracyReadsBooks
When You Look Like Us | Pamela N. Harris
post image

It‘s getting late but not so late I can‘t read a chapter or two. This is another YA ARC. Book is on sale 1/21.