Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Casting Off
Casting Off | Elizabeth Jane Howard
10 posts | 11 read | 5 to read
The fourth volume of the Cazalet Chronicles opens just as World War II has ended, continuing this critically acclaimed family saga perfect for fans of Downton Abbey The war is over, but for the Cazaletsand Englandthe challenges continue. Against the backdrop of a crumbling empire, the family soldiers on in the wake of disappointment, heartbreak, and tragedy. Returning home after five long years, Rupert Cazalet struggles to adapt to civilian life back in England. And his wife, Zoe, harbors a guilty secret. Young wife and mother Louise Cazalet, trapped in a loveless marriage to a famous portrait painter, searches for a way out. Cazalet cousins Polly and Clary must face life in a new world, their hopes and ideals changed forever by the ravages of war. And Rachels self-sacrificing nature could cost her her relationship with Margot Sidney. But the family comes together again as three generations of Cazalets struggle to hold onto Home Place, the beloved Sussex estate that has been their refuge and their heart. Against the titanic sweep of history, as they are tested by infidelities, divorce, unimaginable loss, and the promise of renewed love, the Cazalets try to cast off the sins and sorrows of the past and sail bravely toward the future.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Penny_LiteraryHoarders
post image

As we dig our way out of yesterday‘s snowstorm, a wonderful package came to brighten the day!! Thank you so very, very much @merelybookish for the wonderful book gifts! ☺️

merelybookish Glad they arrived safely! More snow coming our way tonight. Up to 55 cm.🙄 6mo
Penny_LiteraryHoarders @merelybookish WOW! 😱 we don‘t get that much!! Yikes! Stay warm and cozy! Thank you so much once again! 6mo
31 likes2 comments
review
Astroneman
Casting Off | Elizabeth Jane Howard
post image
Pickpick

I decided: I want to finish this saga this year!
I love the story and it's a pleasure to read about The Cazalet 🥰

#leggere #litsy #goodreads #toread #bookly #booklover #bookworm #readingchallenge2022 #lasagadeicazalet #elizabethjanehoward #libro #book

review
Minervasbutler
Casting Off | Elizabeth Jane Howard
post image
Pickpick

The Cazalets confront the new challenges of peacetime, and a Labour government and the familiar one of choosing totally unsuitable partners. The Polly and Louise storylines are perhaps a bit Mills and Boony but hey I'm an addict.

review
MaureenMc
Casting Off | Elizabeth Jane Howard
post image
Pickpick

Volume 4 of the Cazalet Chronicles. Of course, I loved it. (Did anyone have a doubt?) So much drama & developments in the early post-war years - lots of endings but also new beginnings. Looking forward to vol. 5!
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Cathythoughts Great 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 9mo
37 likes1 comment
review
merelybookish
post image
Pickpick

Spent most of Canadian Thanksgiving finishing this and it was WORTH IT!
Love the Cazalets! This one made me cry.
Book 5 (the final volume 😢) has been ordered!

sarahbarnes Hope it was a great Thanksgiving! 10mo
merelybookish @sarahbarnes Thanks! Weird COVID rules kind of changed things but we still had a celebration. 10mo
Cathythoughts Very good 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 10mo
See All 10 Comments
batsy I can't wait to read this series! 😍 10mo
merelybookish @Cathythoughts I couldn't put it down! 10mo
merelybookish @batsy I think you'd enjoy it! And just order the whole series if/when you buy it! I have been buying them one at a time and it was dumb. 😂 10mo
MaureenMc My goal is to finish the series by the end of the year. 🤞 10mo
merelybookish @MaureenMc Me too! Where you are in the series? 10mo
MaureenMc @merelybookish I‘ve got nos. 4 & 5 to get through. Shouldn‘t be a problem, but one of my book groups just picked Dune for our next read, so now I‘m a bit 😬. 😆 10mo
merelybookish @MaureenMc I whipped through this one! 10mo
72 likes10 comments
blurb
merelybookish
post image

Look at the pretty spine on this edition of Book 4 of the Cazalet Chronicles! Kind of makes me want to buy the whole set!
And happy to be back in this world!

Ruthiella Very pretty! 😍 10mo
MaureenMc I just saw this set in an article I read this week on Twitter. It‘s so lovely! 😍 10mo
EvieBee Me too! I own the whole set on Kindle, but… 10mo
See All 8 Comments
Cathythoughts So lovely! Your making your way steadily along 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 I‘ve only read the first so far 10mo
LeahBergen Yes, and all of the spines together create a picture! 😮 10mo
merelybookish @Ruthiella @MaureenMc @EvieBee @LeahBergen It would make such a pretty set on a shelf. One of us really should get it. 😀 10mo
merelybookish @Cathythoughts Yes I have poking away at the series this year, and hope to finish by new year. Definitely worth picking up again when you get the urge! 10mo
Centique That‘s so pretty! 9mo
57 likes8 comments
blurb
catebutler
Casting Off | Elizabeth Jane Howard
post image

It‘s a moody, rainy late afternoon. Work is over for the week, and I‘m easing into the weekend with my current read, soft music via Calm Radio and dark chocolate. Happy weekend to each and every one of you!! 🍂

Crazeedi Hope your weekend is one of relaxing reading! I'm off to see my daughter in the am!! 3y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Beautiful 💗💗 3y
catebutler @Crazeedi Thank you! Tomorrow is going to be busy so I‘m making the most of Friday evening. Have fun with your daughter!! ☺️ 3y
See All 6 Comments
Sleepswithbooks Enjoy your Friday night 🧡 It looks amazing! 3y
catebutler @Crazeedi Thank you, Stacy! I hope you had a great one too! I always love making the most of the weekend. 🧡 3y
47 likes6 comments
blurb
Verity
Casting Off | Elizabeth Jane Howard
post image

Excellent Women by Barbara Pym
Elizabeth Jane Howard
Ever After (the only e that I can think that I like right now!)
Eggs benedict maybe
#manicmonday

JoScho Thanks for playing ❤️ 4y
18 likes1 comment
blurb
Verity
Casting Off | Elizabeth Jane Howard
post image

I try really hard to avoid #booksthatmademecry because most of the time I'm reading to escape the real world. Fault in our stars left me in a weepy heap at 3am and I've avoided everything similar since. So for #riotgrams today I've picked the 4th Cazalet book where the end of the war brings resolutions and tears, mostly happy/of relief. Love this series.

batsy Did you read this Sarah Perry essay on the Cazalet books? https://foxedquarterly.com/at-home-with-the-cazalets/ It's lovely and really makes me want to get to it soon. I've not read any of Howard's books. 5y
18 likes1 comment
blurb
Verity
Casting Off | Elizabeth Jane Howard
post image

My pick for #peace in #maybookflowers is the fourth Cazalet book - which sees the end of WW2 and everyone adapting to peacetime and the changes the war has wrought. I love this series and this was the last for 20 years. Although the fifth book is good, this is still my favourite because you get Polly and Clary's grown up happy endings. If you've never read these, treat yourself and start at the beginning. You won't regret it.

Verity The first of the quintet is The Light Years. Start there. 5y
16 likes1 stack add1 comment