Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Down a Dark River
Down a Dark River | Karen Odden
3 posts | 2 read | 4 to read
In the vein of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, Karen Odden's mystery introduces Inspector Michael Corravan as he investigates a string of vicious murders that has rocked Victorian London's upper crust. London, 1878. One April morning, a small boat bearing a young woman's corpse floats down the murky waters of the Thames. When the victim is identified as Rose Albert, daughter of a prominent judge, the Scotland Yard director gives the case to Michael Corravan, one of the only Senior Inspectors remaining after a corruption scandal the previous autumn left the division in ruins. Reluctantly, Corravan abandons his ongoing case, a search for the missing wife of a shipping magnate, handing it over to his young colleague, Mr. Stiles. An Irish former bare-knuckles boxer and dockworker from London's seedy East End, Corravan has good street sense and an inspector's knack for digging up clues. But he's confounded when, a week later, a second woman is found dead in a rowboat, and then a third. The dead women seem to have no connection whatsoever. Meanwhile, Mr. Stiles makes an alarming discovery: the shipping magnate's missing wife, Mrs. Beckford, may not have fled her house because she was insane, as her husband claims, and Mr. Beckford may not be the successful man of business that he appears to be. Slowly, it becomes clear that the river murders and the case of Mrs. Beckford may be linked through some terrible act of injustice in the past--for which someone has vowed a brutal vengeance. Now, with the newspapers once again trumpeting the Yard's failures, Corravan must dredge up the truth--before London devolves into a state of panic and before the killer claims another innocent victim.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Lynnsoprano
Down a Dark River | Karen Odden
post image
Pickpick

A complicated plot and lots of characters to keep straight, but well worth the effort. An excellent mystery grounded in well researched history of Scotland Yard. The start of a series, and I‘m looking forward to the next installment.

Isaac.Witkowski That‘s a interesting book cover 1mo
Lynnsoprano @Isaac.Witkowski Actually, I took this photo in western North Carolina last summer. The actual cover is nothing special. 1mo
61 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
Lynnsoprano
Down a Dark River | Karen Odden
post image

I‘ve had this on my Kindle for a few months now. I‘ve enjoyed the author‘s previous books, and now she‘s begun a series with this book. It‘s off to a good start.

43 likes1 stack add
review
robinb
Down a Dark River | Karen Odden
post image
Pickpick

I wanted to read this initial series starter because I had read a stand-alone by this author previously and really enjoyed it. Scotland Yard Inspector Michael Corravan, a no-nonsense former bare-knuckles boxer and dockworker, is investigating a series of strange murders involving the Thames River. My only issues were with the story‘s length (a bit too drawn out), frustration with Corravan‘s moodiness and keeping up with a plethora of 🔻

robinb miscellaneous characters‘ names. And just to mention, there are some dark deeds here including rape (not too graphic). I did enjoy this story overall and plan to continue reading. Corravan‘s world is populated with some interesting folks including his young colleague Stiles, his director Vincent, his medical friend James, his lover Belinda and a newly-acquired teenaged boarder Harry…a well-drawn ensemble. 🔻 (edited) 8mo
robinb I‘m intrigued to hear the backstories of these, and I look forward to more well-researched and well-written adventures. 4.25/5⭐️ 8mo
50 likes1 stack add2 comments