Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Study in Murder: A Victorian Book Club Mystery
Study in Murder: A Victorian Book Club Mystery | Callie Hutton
1 post | 1 read | 1 to read
A mystery author is charged with murder--and the plot thickens faster than anyone can turn the pages--in USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton's new series debut, perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Ellery Adams. Bath, England, 1890. Mystery author Lady Amy Lovell receives an anonymous letter containing shocking news: her fianc, Mr. Ronald St. Vincent, has been dabbling in something illegal, which causes her to promptly break their engagement. Two evenings later, as Lady Amy awaits a visit from Lord William Wethington, fellow member of the Bath Mystery Book Club, her former fianc makes an unexpected and most unwelcome appearance at her house. She promptly sends him to the library to cool his heels but later discovers the room seemingly empty--until she stumbles upon a dead Mr. St. Vincent with a knife in his chest. Lord Wethington arrives to find Lady Amy screaming and sends for the police, but the Bobbies immediately assume that she is the killer. Desperate to clear her name, Lady Amy and Lord Wethington launch their own investigation--and stir up a hornet's nest of suspects, from the gardener who served time in prison for murder to a vengeful woman who was spurned by St. Vincent before he proposed to Lady Amy. Can they close the book on the case before the real killer gets away with murder?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
SW-T
post image
Mehso-so

It was okay. Highlighted the battle of the sexes where men didn‘t think women capable of logic or reason. Suffragettes, women‘s rights and other issues of the day are brought up as part of Lady Amy‘s attempt to solve the murder of her ex fiancé after his body is found dead in her home. She breaks off their engagement after she discovers he‘s an opium dealer and becomes the prime suspect. Interesting look at the times, though not a riveting plot.