Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
You're So Dead
You're So Dead | Ash Parsons
6 posts | 7 read | 1 reading | 4 to read
A hilarious Agatha Christie-inspired YA thriller-comedy about three best friends who sneak into an influencers-only festival event (gone wrong), only to discover a killer is in their midst--and they have to uncover the truth and solve the mystery before it's too late. Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Truly Devious. Plum Winter has always come in second to her sister, the unbelievably cool, famous influencer Peach Winter. And when Peach is invited to an all-expenses-paid trip to a luxurious art-and-music festival for influencers on a private island in the Caribbean, Plum decides it's finally her time to shine. So she intercepts the invite--and asks her two best friends, Sofia and Marlowe, to come along to the fest with her. It'll be a spring break they'll never forget. But when Plum and her friends get to the island, it's not anything like it seemed in the invite. The island is run-down, creepy, and there doesn't even seem to be a festival--it's just seven other quasi-celebrities and influencers, and none of the glitz and glamour she expected. Then people start to die... Plum and her friends soon realize that someone has lured each of them to the "festival" to kill them. Someone has a vendetta against every person on the island--and no one is supposed to leave alive. So, together, Plum, Sofia, and Marlowe will do whatever it takes to unravel the mystery of the killer, and fight to save themselves and as many influencers as they can, before it's too late.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
LibrarianRyan
You're So Dead | Ash Parsons
post image
Panpan

2 ⭐ It is very obvious from the beginning that this is a parody of the Fyre festival. The Fyre festival was supposed to be this big party on an island reminiscent of things like Coachella. However for this book they‘ve turned it in to a murder mystery. Oh my god is this book boring and predictable. The first 130 pages are all about Plum. She feels inferior to her 10 years older influencer sister, and she wants a chance to just do something crazy.

LibrarianRyan She steals her sister‘s Pyre Festival ticket, turns it in for two business class tickets so she can take her friends with her to this party. However, from the minute they get on the boat the reader can tell something is wrong. None of the influencers are big influencers. They are people never heard of of by other characters. Then when they get to the island things are already odd. And it just goes on and on. The author tries to put in a love story 6mo
LibrarianRyan between Plum and her friend but this reader was so sick of it by the time the first person died. I really wanted one of the girls to be the first to die. This book had potential it‘s just not been met. The book spends so much time trying to set a scene, trying to set a murder, and trying to set a feeling, that none of it works. As an older reader, this screams of And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. And by the middle of the book a 6mo
LibrarianRyan character even says that this is that story. I really wanted this book to work it just didn‘t. Am I glad I didn‘t DNF it, however will this book be around in 20 years? No. I doubt it‘s around in five years. If you really want a good mystery read the original. If you might want a horror novel try Clown in the Cornfield, or anything by Karen McManus to get a little horror and a lot of whodunit thrills. 6mo
61 likes3 comments
review
bookandbedandtea
You're So Dead | Ash Parsons
post image
Pickpick

This was very entertaining. It has strong And Then There Were None vibes (as one the characters points out) but is strongly influenced (heh!) by social media culture. It was a quick read, perfect for Sunday with football in the background.

review
Victoriahoperose
You're So Dead | Ash Parsons
post image
Panpan

This had the potential to be a really good book with an important message but the writing was a bit rough for me. I thought it was pretty unbelievable and silly in most parts. It‘s a cautionary tale, but definitely could have been done in a more realistic way and less exaggerated. Maybe it would be better for an actual YA audience.

Smrloomis That‘s disappointing 🤨 1y
BookDragonNotWorm I just read The Girls Save The World In This One by the same author. Silly but good fun, not completely ridiculous, so maybe she gets better? I'm glad you posted thi review,, I was eyeballing this one. 1y
Victoriahoperose @BookDragonNotWorm maybe it was just me!!! It could have just not been my thing. I would still try it if you liked her other stuff!! 1y
BookDragonNotWorm No, I have a feeling you're right. Amazon offered me $5 off after I checked it out a few times and I still passed (that NEVER happens!!!). I didn't suddenly grow willpower 😂 I think the blurb was too weak and turned me off. 1y
Victoriahoperose @BookDragonNotWorm 😂😂😂 good point lol. I luckily borrowed from the library!! 1y
27 likes5 comments
blurb
WeeShubbasWorld
You're So Dead | Ash Parsons
post image
review
SoManyBooksNotEnoughTime
You're So Dead | Ash Parsons
post image
Pickpick

Fun summer read. Described as a hilarious thriller, it's not supposed to be serious. Like the movies Clue & I Still Know What You Did Last Summer. When Plum & her friends steal her influencer sister's invite to ⁣Pyre Festival, they think they're in for the trip of a lifetime. With definite jabs at Fyre Fest, Pyre turns out to be an even bigger nightmare. "??'? ???, ??? ??? ????? ?? ????, ???? ???? ???? ???."⁣

blurb
LibrarianRyan
You're So Dead | Ash Parsons
post image

The description of this books makes me think they took Gossip Girl, We Were Liars, and Pretty Little Liars, threw them in a blender then baked.

Out June 15
#CoverLove #YAedition

33 likes1 stack add