Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Pilu of the Woods
Pilu of the Woods | Mai K. Nguyen
9 posts | 13 read | 9 to read
"Pilu of the Woods is a heartwarming tale full of natural wonder, with wise and lovely messages about coping with grief, facing your feelings, and learning to forgive yourself." - KATIE O'NEILL (Eisner Award-winning author of The Tea Dragon Society) For fans of Anya's Ghost and I Kill Giants comes PILU OF THE WOODS, a heartwarming and bittersweet story of friendship, loss, exploring complex emotions and finding your way home from debut creator Mai K. Nguyen. Willow loves the woods near her house. Theyre calm and quiet, so different from her own turbulent emotions, which she keeps locked away. When her emotions get the better of her one day, she decides to run away into the woods. There, she meets Pilu, a lost tree spirit who cant find her way back homewhich turns out to be the magnolia grove Willows mom used to take her to. Willow offers to help Pilu, and the two quickly become friends. But the journey is long, and Pilu isnt sure shes ready to return home yetwhich infuriates Willow, whos determined to make up for her own mistakes by getting Pilu back safely. As a storm rages and Willows emotions bubble to the surface, they suddenly take on a physical form, putting both girls in danger and forcing Willow to confront her inner feelings once and for all. BONUS CONTENT: This edition includes blank journal pages in the back to encourage readers to keep their own notes about nature and their feelings.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
HeathersReadingHideaway
Pilu of the Woods | Mai K. Nguyen
post image
Pickpick

[#GraphicNovelReview] Pilu of the Woods by Mai K. Nguyen. This was one of the most heartwarming and sweet graphic novel stories I‘ve ever read. This book tackles topics like grief, anxiety/depression, friendship, and more. I am so happy this is one I own so I can re-read it whenever! I highly recommend it to readers of all ages. 📖🌿

https://heathersreadinghideaway.blogspot.com/2020/02/graphic-novel-review-pilu-i...

4 likes1 stack add
blurb
quietjenn
Pilu of the Woods | Mai K. Nguyen
post image

Graphic novel + leftovers

rachelsbrittain Such a cute graphic novel! 1mo
60 likes1 comment
blurb
cobwebmoth
Pilu of the Woods | Mai K. Nguyen
post image

@Hazel2019 what an awesome #Readinthenewyear box you sent! I'm super excited about the variety of books you chose. The art postcards are gorgeous, as are the bookmarks and bracelet. I'll definitely use the travel cup and journal, and I'll add the pin to my bag for the viking festival.😊 Thank you so much!
Thanks also to @Chrissyreadit and @MeganAnn for organizing this #readinthenewyearswap!

Hazel2019 Yay! Glad you like. Enjoy! Here‘s to a great 2020! 🎉🥳 2mo
Chrissyreadit 😍🎉❤️🎉😍 2mo
MeganAnn Amazing package!! The Sea Wolves looks fascinating 😍🎉👏🏻✨❤️ 2mo
See All 10 Comments
Trashcanman I hope you are well, miss seeing you here. 1mo
cobwebmoth @Trashcanman Thanks. This winter has been rough so far...having lots of chronic pain. *hugs* 1mo
Trashcanman @cobwebmoth well I hope things get better soon. Truly. 🤗🤗 1mo
Avanders Just stopping by to say hi.. hope your winter is improving ♥️♥️ 1mo
cobwebmoth @Avanders Thanks.❤ 4w
Chrissyreadit Hey Laura! Just wondering how you have been? Missing “seeing” you via Litsy. 4w
cobwebmoth @Chrissyreadit Hi! This winter has been a bit rough so far...I've been having a lot of chronic pain flare-ups. Thanks for checking on me.❤ 4w
71 likes10 comments
review
SqueakGirl
Pilu of the Woods | Mai K. Nguyen
post image
Pickpick

A beautiful and heartwarming children's graphic novel that deals deftly with grief and unpleasant feelings in a way children will understand. The art style is whimsical and vibrant. It makes you want to go outside and start exploring your own backyard! The end of the book even has a section for kids to do their own nature journal! This title is a must for any kids' graphic novel collection.

review
ChristySevern
Pilu of the Woods | Mai K. Nguyen
post image
Pickpick

Short and very moving! This book deals with coming to terms with one's feelings and being able to deal with loss.

I really loved the character's interest in plants and flowers and the illustrations really brought everything to life!

#NetGalley #arc

45 likes1 stack add
blurb
ness
Pilu of the Woods | Mai K. Nguyen
post image

More reading, this time on the streetcar! #24in48

18 likes1 stack add
review
okthislooksbad
Pilu of the Woods | Mai K. Nguyen
post image
Pickpick

This was such a delightful little tale of friendship, family, loneliness and mental health, told using the idea of tiny little (adorable, tbh, all the art in this is just /cute/) monsters bottled up and clawing at the glass to burst out and raise hell. Willow, Pilu and Chico (the goodest puppy to ever puppy, look at that face!) discover the secret to dealing with these bottled up emotions in a healthy way and spoiler alert, you will weep.

okthislooksbad I feel like that is the worst summary I've ever written but this is such an onion, so many layers and not enough characters. 450 is not enough for this one. What I'm trying to say is that this one is a good one to pick up over the ye olde netgalley (or in stores when it's out on 16 April, you won't regret it) 14mo
monalyisha 😂 I love it. What‘s the intended age range, do you think? 14mo
okthislooksbad @monalyisha I believe it's marketed as middle grade, which seems just about right 😄 14mo
monalyisha @okthislooksbad Nice! That‘s what I was hoping for. Totally gonna check it out for the kids at work (they‘re always looking for new graphics to read). 👌🏻 14mo
33 likes4 stack adds4 comments
blurb
okthislooksbad
Pilu of the Woods | Mai K. Nguyen
post image

"My hair doesn't bloom this time of year.."
You and me both, Pilu. You. And. Me. Both. ?

26 likes1 stack add
review
rachelsbrittain
Pilu of the Woods | Mai K. Nguyen
post image
Pickpick

This was a cute little children's comic about learning to open up and accept the "little monsters" in your head without bottling them up or always listening to them. Also wood nymphs and friendship and sisters! Cute illustrations, sweet story-- a good one for kiddos, I think #netgalley

37 likes1 stack add