Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Betty Church and the Suffolk Vampire
Betty Church and the Suffolk Vampire | M. R. C. Kasasian
3 posts | 3 read | 3 to read
Brilliant new series from the author of The Mangle Street Murders, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie, Jasper Fforde and M.C. Beaton. September 1939. A new day dawns in Sackwater, not that this sleepy backwater is taking much notice... Inspector Betty Church - one of the few female officers on the force - has arrived from London to fill a vacancy at Sackwater police station. But Betty isn't new here. This is the place she grew up. The place she thought she'd left behind for good. Time ticks slowly in Sackwater, and crime is of a decidedly lighter shade. Having solved the case of the missing buttons, Betty's called to the train station to investigate a missing bench. But though there's no bench, there is a body. A smartly dressed man, murdered in broad daylight, with two distinctive puncture wounds in his throat. While the locals gossip about the Suffolk Vampire, Betty Church readies herself to hunt a dangerous killer. Reviews for BETTY CHURCH AND THE SUFFOLK VAMPIRE: 'Betty Church is a wonderful creation ... Had me laughing out loud' GOODREADS. 'I loved this ... A cast of crazy characters, with a gruesome murder or two thrown in for good measure' GOODREADS. 'Loved Betty Church! No nonsense, in control with quirky crazy cast makes this a new series I can't wait to read more of' GOODREADS.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
ablachly
Pickpick

Inspector Betty Church is one of the first female police officers, returning to work in her small hometown after losing an arm while working in London. Now she's investigating a series of murders, while dealing with a crazy cast of characters--sexist coworkers, unappreciative parents, and an ex-boyfriend's family who seems more like family than her own. The book is delightful and quirky (in a Jasper Fforde kind of way--which is to say, good).

kgriffith Jasper Fforde way is indeed a complimentary comparison. 6mo
12 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Blueroseis
post image
Panpan

Dodo Chivers has the mentality of a 7 year old which was quite amusing when she was introduced in this book but her antics soon became monotonous and frustrating. Two additional characters, Algernon and Lysander with a similar mentality of Dodo also added to the frustration. This trio along with a spattering of unnecessary 'F' words and numerous other characters in the story has convinced me never to read another book in the Betty Church series.

6 likes1 stack add
blurb
Blueroseis
post image

Off to Dawlish on Monday for a few days and will be taking Inspector Betty Church with me.