Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Conquests: Hearts Rule Kingdoms
Conquests: Hearts Rule Kingdoms | Emily Murdoch
1 post | 2 read
England, 1069. The nation is still recovering from the Norman invasion three years earlier - and adjusting to life under its sometimes brutal new rulers. A young girl trembles in the shadows of what was once her home. Avis is homeless and penniless, and with no family left alive she is forced to become a ward of Richard, the Norman lord who has taken her home. But when King William decrees that Norman lords must marry Anglo-Saxon women Avis must make a terrible choice. Either marry the repulsive Richard or take a else chance on another Norman, Melville, a man she has never met. Soon she realises that survival in a time of turmoil and war depends of putting aide the prejudices of the past And if she can do so, kingdoms and hearts can still be among her 'Conquests'. 'Conquests' is a brilliantly researched and involving historical drama that is perfect for fans of Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory. 'It gripped me from the first page.' - Robert Foster, best-selling author of 'The Lunar Code'. 'This novella, set right after the Norman Conquest, is very accessible to modern readers, and has a tempestuous yet sweet love story between an Anglo-Saxon and a Norman that made my heart flutter with excitement.' Andrea Zuvich, author of 'His Last Mistress'. Emily Murdoch is a medieval historian and novelist. She lives in York.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
bookishbunny
post image
Mehso-so

I really wanted to love this book because I love the time period and setting (England post-Norman Conquest). The main problems were inconsistent timeline within the story (seasons/duration of time changing within a paragraph or page) and the mentioning of "I'm an Anglo-Saxon and you're a Norman" (or vice versa) on almost every page. This should have been a great book, but these problems made it just an OK one for me.

rubyslippersreads Too bad, because I love the cover. 2y
18 likes1 comment