Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Stash
Stash: My Life in Hiding | Laura Cathcart Robbins
1 post | 1 read | 2 to read
An irresistibly delicious story. Holly Whitaker, New York Times bestselling author A propulsive and vivid memoirin the vein of Drinking: A Love Story and Somebodys Daughterabout the journey to sobriety and self-love amidst addiction, privilege, racism, and self-sabotage from the host of the popular podcast The Only One in the Room. After years of hiding her addiction from everyonefrom stockpiling pills in her Louboutins to elaborately scheduling withdrawals between PTA meetings, baby showers, and tennis matchesLaura Cathcart Robbins settles into a complicated purgatory. She learns the hard way that privilege doesnt protect you from pain. Facing divorce, the possibility of a grueling custody battle, and internalized racism, Robbins wonders just how much more she can take. Now, with courage and candid openness, she reveals how she managed to begin the long journey towards sobriety and unexpectedly finding new love. Robbins harrowingly illustrates taking down the wall she built around herself brick by brick and what it means to be Black in a startingly white world. With its raw, finely crafted, and engaging prose, Stash is the story of just how badly the facade she created had to shatter before Laura could reconnect to her true self.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Mpcacher
Stash: My Life in Hiding | Laura Cathcart Robbins
post image
Pickpick

Robbins is a black woman who was married to the now president and CEO of Paramount Pictures & Nickelodeon. Struggling with an addiction to Ambien and alcohol, and always feeling like her real self is in hiding, she finally asks for a divorce. Against her lawyer's advice she enters a 30 day rehab program. This is a very entertaining memoir of a mother who in order to protect her sons, finally helps herself. I really enjoyed it . 4.5/5 stars!

5 likes1 stack add