Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Automatic Reload
Automatic Reload: A Novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
2 posts | 1 read | 1 to read
Ferrett Steinmetzs quirky, genre-mashing cyberpunk romance Automatic Reload: a high-octane adventure about a grizzled mercenary with machine gun arms who unexpectedly falls in love with a bio-engineered assassin In the near-future, automation is king, and Mat is the top mercenary working the black market. Hes your soliders solider, with military-grade weapons instead of arms...and a haunted past that keeps him awake at night. On a mission that promises the biggest score of his life, he discovers that the top secret shipment hes been sent to guard is not a package, but a person: Silvia. Silvia is genetically-altered to be the deadliest woman on the planether only weakness is her panic disorder. When Mat decides to free her, both of them become targets of the most powerful shadow organization in the world. They go on the lam, determined to stop a sinister plot to create more super assassins like Silvia. Between bloody gunfights, rampant car chases and drone attacks, Mat and Silvia team up to survive...and unexpectedly realize their messed up brain-chemistry cannot overpower their very real chemistry. Automatic Reload is the genre's most unexpectedly heartfelt romantic comedy with explosions, perfect for fans of both Die Hard and Mr. and Mrs. Smith. Steinmetz has mixed fast-paced shoot-em-up violence with a compassionate treatment of trauma and mental illness to create an engaging page-turner. Like Shadowrun with a conscience. Hugo Award-winning author Jim. C Hines Automatic Reload is for everyone who ever wished the Transformers movies were less Michael Bay, more transformation sequences; it luxuriates in the intricate beauty that is technology, exults in the mechanics of cyberpunk. And it does all this while being a rom-com with a lot of explosions. Cassandra Khaw, finalist for the British Fantasy and Locus Awards for Hammers on Bone At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
blurb
BkClubCare
Automatic Reload: A Novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image

Welp, my Discord space (or whatever it is called) won‘t reload for me. Is it me or is it Discord? #ToB22

BkClubCare For anyone who might have interest; yes, Discord had a hiccup and more info can be sent/found on Twitter @IsDiscordDown 🤣 #SocialMediaIsSoFun 11mo
22 likes1 comment
blurb
akaGingerK
Automatic Reload: A Novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image

This ARC is being mismarketed and will land badly with those expecting a “rom com,” jesus.
Contains potential triggers for sexual assault.
We don‘t meet the female lead for the first 80 pages. When we do, it‘s as she‘s screaming herself awake from non consensual body modification in a traumatic scene - one where the hero still has time to compare her new body to a Barbie. While she‘s strapped to a table naked.
#AdvancedReaderCopy

akaGingerK And after the book establishes liking classic movies as the male leads‘ primary non-combat character trait - which in this world is quirky and weird! - the woman reveals she‘s ALSO into classic films. So instead of being enthused, he starts with Fake Geek Girl style quizzing. A charming character trait that has never led to me not dating a guy in RL, surely. 3y
5 likes1 stack add1 comment